Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Service Award

The Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Award was established by President Emeritus Jim Wright and his wife Susan in 2008 to recognize a Dartmouth staff member who has made a difference to the institution and to their colleagues; demonstrates a commitment to the highest work ethic and exemplary work performance; is both selfless and unwavering in dedication to the institution; and is relentless in the pursuit of excellence.


The 2023 nomination period is closed.

Learn about the nomination guidelines. 

See previous award recipients.

Nomination Criteria

  • Employed at Dartmouth for five or more years;
  • Demonstrated commitment and contribution to the mission and core values of the institution;
  • Consistent and excellent job performance;
  • Initiative, innovation, and leadership in the workplace; and
  • Effective and responsible use of time, money, technology, personnel, and other resources for the benefit Dartmouth.

Previous Award Recipients

Learn more about our previous award recipients and their contributions to Dartmouth.
2009 - Kathy Hart (Hood Museum of Art)
2010 - Ann Lavanway (Biological Sciences)
2011 - C. Robert Lester (Dartmouth Dining Services)
2012 - Gail Vernazza (History Department)
2013 - Keely Ayres (Hopkins Center for the Arts)
2014 - Linda Martin (The Geisel School)
2015 - Sadhana Hall (The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy)
2016 - Kim Wind (Environmental Studies Program)
2017 - Marcia Calloway (Office of Visa and Immigration Services)
2018 - Jonathan Crossett (Information, Technology, and Consulting)
2019 - Amy Hunt (Student Affairs Systems and Technology)
2020 - Terry Impey (Operations Manager, Real Estate Office)
2021 - Richard Whitmore (Deputy Director, Dartmouth College Athletics)
2022 - Greg Elder (Director of the Student Woodshop, Hopkins Center for the Arts)
2023 - Cheryl Bush (Operations Director, Molecular and Systems Biology, Geisel School of Medicine)

Last Updated