Lone Pine Excellence Awards

Nominations for 2019 must be received by 5:00 PM on Tuesday, December 17, 2019.

These excellence awards recognize staff members, with at least one year of service, who have demonstrated the criteria listed below that go beyond their basic job description and are based off of Dartmouth's Core Values.

Supervisors and co-workers, as well as staff from other departments, faculty, and students, are welcome to nominate staff for any of the award categories. Each individual wishing to nominate a staff member should complete their own submission form.

Award submissions will be reviewed by a cross-campus committee that includes members of the work group that helped shape this program.  Award recipients will also be invited to participate on the committee.

All nominees will be given notice of their nomination, and all award recipients will be recognized at a ceremony and reception in April, led by President Hanlon and other Senior Leaders. Each recipient will receive a monetary prize of $500 (minimum of $100 for team award recipients) and a special gift.

Nominations must be received by 5:00 PM on Tuesday, December 17.  Please submit your nomination here. A hard copy is also available at the Office of Human Resources front desk, and completed versions should be submitted to:

Lone Pine Excellence Award Committee
Office of Human Resources, HB 6042

Click here to nominate a colleague.

Collaboration Award

For teams and/or individuals who:

  • Demonstrate an exemplary ability to effectively work with others to achieve a defined and common purpose for Dartmouth
  • Are able to eliminate perceived boundaries and optimize unique perspectives for a more dynamic collaboration
  • Show respect to others and are dependable and reliable, always willing to help wherever needed
  • Are selfless in their dedication to their team/colleagues and the institution

Passion & Commitment Award

For teams and/or individuals who:

  • Demonstrate unwavering passion and commitment that extends beyond the job requirements
  • Serve as role models to others through their positive and engaging approach to their work, their peers and students/clients, and the institution as a whole
  • Exceed expectations and dedicate themselves for the betterment of Dartmouth
  • Inspire others to approach their work in the same positive and passionate way

Innovation Award

For teams and/or individuals who:

  • Demonstrate unusual initiative and skill in devising new and improved equipment, programs, work methods, and procedures; resulting in substantial improvements to productivity and effectiveness
  • Enhance the Dartmouth community through their innovative work
  • Are proactive and creative in their approach to their work to enhance productivity and effectiveness in their roles
  • Advance the mission of the college through original and creative problem solving for the betterment of Dartmouth and the broader world

Leadership Award

For teams and/or individuals who:

  • Demonstrate a unique ability to inspire others to improve the quantity and quality of their work and facilitate growth through mentoring and commitment to professional development of their staff
  • Provide a sense of purpose for the work that is being done to ensure connectivity to the mission of the institution, and challenge and motivate individuals to excel and succeed
  • Make their staff feel valued through appreciation and recognition, and achieve outstanding results in improving the morale and performance of their employees
  • Manage their teams effectively through open communication and build strong relationships of trust and credibility

Unsung Hero

For teams and/or individuals who:

  • Perform at a high level and go above and beyond without fanfare
  • Maintain a positive approach to their work and have a meaningful impact on colleagues and/or students
  • Embody reliability, perseverance, and integrity
  • Are willing to fill in when and wherever they are needed to help their team/colleagues and Dartmouth


Congratulations to the 2018 award recipients.  

  • Unsung Hero - Kristin Miller, Arthur L. Irving Institute for Energy and Society
  • Collaboration - Jennifer Bilbo and Jason Merwin, Department of Theater
  • Leadership - Tracy Dustin-Eichler, Center for Social Impact
  • Passion & Commitment - Joanne Needham, The Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy
  • Innovation - DELTA Summit Planning Team: Colleen Goodhue (DCAL), Elli Goudzwaard (DCAL), Adam Nemeroff (Learning Design Team, ITC), Mike Goudzwaard (Learning Design Team, ITC), Elaine Livingston (DCAL), Ashley Doolittle (Center for Social Impact), Tracy Dustin-Eichler (Center for Social Impact), Renata Baptista (Office of the Dean of the College), Susan Simon (Jones Media Center, Library), Casey Aldrich (Dickey Center), Tracie Williams (Outdoor Programs)

To view a list of the Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Award recipients, click here