Home >

Center for Cognitive Neuroscience talk series

The CCN organizes a series of talks through the academic year by prominent investigators.

CCN speakers 2020-2021

Yael Niv

October 20, 2020

Yael Niv

Professor of Psychology and the Princeton. Neuroscience Institute

Princeton University

Niv Lab



CCN speakers 2019-2020

Sharon Thompson-Schill


Sharon Thompson-Schill

Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Psychology

Chair, Department of Psychology

University of Pennsylvania

Thompson-Schill Lab

Todd Constable, Ph.D.

October 3

Todd Constable

Professor Radiology and Biomedical Imaging


Director MRI Research

Yale University School of Medicine

Magnetic Resonance Imaging Group

Danielle Bassett

Date TBD

Danielle Bassett

Eduardo D. Glandt Faculty Fellow

Associate Professor

Departments of Bioengineering, Physics & Astronomy, Electrical & Systems Engineering, Neurology, & Psychiatry

University of Pennsylvania

Complex Systems Lab


CCN speakers 2018-2019

Pawan Sinha

August 28

Pawan Sinha

Professor of vision and computational neuroscience, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, MIT

The Sinha Laboratory for Vision Research at MIT

Marcel van Gerven

October 13

Marcel van Gerven

Professor of Artificial Cognitive Systems

Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition, and Behaviour

Department of Artificial Intelligence, Radboud University


Caroline Robertson

October 18

Caroline Robertson

Assistant Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences

Dartmouth College

Dartmouth Autism Research Initiative 

Silvia Pellegrini

November 8

Silvia Pellegrini

Associate Professor, Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine, University of Pisa

Nicole Rust

December 11

Nicole Rust

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology; Member, Computational Neuroscience Initiative, University of Pennsylvania

Visual Memory Laboratory


CCN speakers 2017-2018

Olaf Sporns

July 20

Olaf Sporns

Distinguished Professor, Provost Professor, Robert H. Shaffer Chair; Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Indiana University Bloomington

Computational Cognitive Neuroscience Lab

Tor Wager

November 28

Tor Wager

Professor, of Psychology and Neuroscience; Faculty member in the Institute for Cognitive Sciences,  University of Colorado at Boulder

Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience Lab

 Joern Diedrichsen

January 23

Jörn Diedrichsen

Western Research Chair for Motor Control and Computational Neuroscience; Brain and Mind Institute; Department for Computer Science, University of Western Ontario

Diedrichsen Lab

Michael Hasselmo 

March 14

Michael Hasselmo

Director for Systems Neuroscience, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Boston University

Hasselmo Lab


CCN speakers 2016-2017

Stefano Panzeri

November 10

Stefano Panzeri

Director of the Neural Computation Laboratory; Senior Researcher, Italian Institute of Technology Center for Neuroscience and Cognitive Systems

5:45-6:45pm, Moore Hall, Room 202


Jack Gallant

September 7

Jack Gallant

Professor, Department of Psychology, University of California at Berkeley

5:00-6:00pm, Moore Hall, Filene Auditorium

Gallant lab website

Jim DiCarlo

August 15

Jim DiCarlo

Investigator, McGovern Institute; Department Head, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, MIT

4:00-6:00pm, Moore Hall, Filene Auditorium

DiCarlo lab website


August 15 

Nikolaus Kriegeskorte

Program Leader, Memory and perception group, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit

4:00-6:00pm, Moore Hall, Filene Auditorium




Previous CCN speakers

Michael McCloskey, Professor; Homewood IRB Chair, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences at Johns Hopkins

Philippe Schyns and Rachael Jack, Institute of Neuroscience and Psychology, University of Glasgow

Paul Whalen, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Dartmouth College

Sol Diamond, Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth, Hanover, NH

William Newsome, Professor of Neurobiology, Stanford University; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

David Foster, The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Department of Neuroscience

Michael Casey, James Wright Professor, Department of Music, Dartmouth College,  Hanover, NH

Brian Russ, National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, MD

Matt van der Meer, Department of Biology and Centre for Theoretical Neuroscience, University of Waterloo (now Dartmouth College)

Niko Kriegeskorte, National Institutes of Health (now MRC Cognitive Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge, UK)

Frank Tong, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

David Leopold, National Instititutes of Health, Bethesda, MD

Kendrick Kay, University of California Berkeley (now Stanford University)

Tom Mitchell, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

Winrich Freiwald, Rockefeller University, New York, NY

Michael Hanke, University of Magdeburg, Germany

Pawan Sinha, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

Simon Thorpe, University of Toulouse, France

Axel Scherer, Caltech, Pasadena, CA, and Thayer School of Engineering, Hanover, NH

Steve Hanson, Rutgers University, Newark, NJ

Hervé Abdi, University of Texas Dallas, TX

Pietro Pietrini, University of Pisa, ItalyYael Niv