Skip to main content


You can get a mentor who is a professional scientist or engineer in industry or government through MentorNet. Apply online at MentorNet.net at anytime during the year. Open to Dartmouth men and women undergraduates, graduates, post docs and junior faculty.


Women in Science Project
6243 Parker House, 2nd floor
(Located in a two-story white frame house)
Hanover, NH
03755-3529
Phone: (603) 646-3690
Email: WISP@Dartmouth.EDU
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Timeline

Fall Term 2014

September

  • September 15 (Monday): Fall Term Classes begin at 7:45 am
  • September 19 (Friday): Deadline for sponsors to submit Round One project descriptions

October

  • October 2 (Thursday) Internship Information Session, students receive information on opportunities and application process and begin contacting sponsors to set up interviews
  • Friday, October 3 through Thursday, October 23: Sponsors (and assistant sponsors) conduct interviews with prospective interns
  • October 23 (Thursday): Last day for Round One sponsor/student interviews
  • October 26 (Sunday): Sponsor and student deadline to submit top internship choices for Round One
  • October 27 - Nov. 4: Winter term course elections
  • October 31 (Friday): Deadline for sponsors to submit Round Two project descriptions

November

  • November 4 (Monday) Notification of Round One Matches
  • November 6 (Thursday): Round Two Project Descriptions available, Students begin contacting sponsors to set up interviews
  • November 6 - 17:  Sponsors and assistant sponsors conduct interviews with prospective interns
  • November 17 (Monday): Last day for Round Two sponsor/student interviews
  • November 18 (Tuesday): Sponsor and student deadline to submit top internship choices for Round Two - Fall term classes end
  • November 21 - Wednesday November 27 - Final Examination period
  • November 26 (Wednesday): Thanksgiving recess begins at 5:50 p.m.
  • November 26 (Wednesday): Notification of Round Two matches.
Note: Before the end of Fall Term, each sponsor, assistant sponsor and intern triad (or pair) should meet for a pre-internship meeting to discuss time commitments, establish initial expectations and identify a firm January start date. This first meeting has proved to be very important to insuring a successful internship "launch". Group interns on a project should try to meet together with their sponsor.

Winter Term 2015

January

  • January 5 (Monday): Winter term classes begin. WISP internships may start now.
  • January TBA: WISP Intern Orientation Session for all interns

February

  • February TBA: Orientation dinner  discussion for research mentors
  • February 6 (Friday): Carnival holiday (Classes moved to x-periods)
  • February 11 - 19: Spring Term Course Selection
  • TBA  Intern check-in to share experiences and connect with other interns

End-February: Prior to end of term final exams, sponsor-intern check-in to review and/or adjust expectations and responsibilities, give feedback, set some goals for spring term. Sponsors are encouraged to share this review with WISP office.

March

Early March Sponsor/intern review expectations, give feedback and set goals for spring term

  • March 10 (Tuesday): Winter term classes end at 5:50 p.m.; start of Pre-Examination Break
  • March 13 (Friday): Final examinations begin
  • March 17 (Tuesday): Final examinations end

Spring Term 2015

March

  • March 30 (Monday): Spring term classes begin
  • Internships resume this week. Getting re-established with your intern this week will help her prioritize the internship. Set a new work schedule.

April

  • Begin to work with intern on poster content and presentation for Wetterhahn Science Symposium

May

  • TBA: Poster Prep Session for Symposium participants
  • Note: Sponsors set interim goals for review of intern poster content and coach interns with practice presentations
  • TBA: Deadline for intern submission of symposium poster titles
  • May 25 (Monday): Memorial Day Holiday
  • May 28 (Thursday): 24th Wetterhahn Science Poster Symposium, keynote talk and student poster session - Life Sciences Bldg.

June

Note: Interns may continue working in their internship until they leave campus or conclude with the symposium. Sponsor and assistant sponsor bring closure to internship experience with wrap-up and feedback to interns
  • June 5 (Friday): Final Examinations begin
  • June 9 (Tuesday): Final examinations end
  • June 14 (Sunday): Commencement Day

Last Updated: 7/22/14