Skip to main content


Board Elects Five Alumni as Trustees

  • Save & Share:
  • Bookmark on
  • Submit to Digg!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Bookmark on Google
  • Post to MySpace
  • Share with Reddit
  • Share with StumbleUpon
  • Email & Print:
  • E-mail this
  • Print this

New members bring expertise in medicine, public service, real estate, and management

Five prominent alumni have been elected to the Board of Trustees, Board Chair Ed Haldeman '70 announced on Sept. 5. The Board also elected a vice chair at the annual retreat Sept. 13 and 14.

The new trustees began to serve their first four-year terms on Sept. 5.

"This group of remarkably accomplished individuals will significantly enhance our capacity to provide effective stewardship of this world-class institution. They not only have strong ties to Dartmouth, but also bring additional expertise and leadership in fields-such as medicine and biotechnology, public service, real estate, and international management-important to the governance of the College," said Haldeman.

President James Wright added: "Jeff, Sherri, John, Steve, and Diana share an intense commitment to Dartmouth's mission and will provide valuable guidance to the College as we seek to build on our success."

Trustee John Donahoe '82, president and CEO of eBay, Inc., was elected vice chair of the Board. "I am honored to serve Dartmouth in this capacity. Ed Haldeman is doing a terrific job as chair, and I look forward to supporting him during this important time for Dartmouth," said Donahoe.

Of Donahoe's appointment, Haldeman said, "I am pleased that John has agreed to serve Dartmouth yet again by serving as vice chair of the Board. This is a very busy time as we work to find a new president, complete our $1.3 billion capital campaign, ensure the finest educational experience possible for our students, and increase communication with our alumni."

New trustees

Immelt Oberg Rich
Jeffrey R. Immelt '78
Sherri C. Oberg '82, Tuck '86
John A. Rich '80

Jeffrey R. Immelt '78 is chairman and chief executive officer, GE, and has been named three times as one of the World's Best CEOs by Barron's. He received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Dartmouth in 2004 when he served as Commencement speaker.

Sherri C. Oberg '82, Tuck '86, is president, chief executive officer, director, Acusphere, Inc., a specialty pharmaceutical company. She has served as president of Dartmouth's Alumni Council, as an Alumni Fund leadership agent, class and reunion agent, and a fraternity/sorority coordinator.

John A. Rich '80 is chair of the Department of Health Management and Policy and director of the Center for Academic Public Health Practice, Drexel University School of Public Health. Rich is an innovative leader in public health, and has focused on serving African American men in urban settings. He received an honorary Doctor of Science degree from Dartmouth in 2007.

Roth Taylor
Steven Roth '62, Tuck '63
Diana L. Taylor '77

Steven Roth '62, Tuck '63, is chairman and chief executive officer, Vornado Realty Trust, and has been named by Barron's as one of the World's Thirty Most Respected CEOs for three consecutive years. He has served as a member of the Alumni Council, the President's Leadership Council, and Tuck's Board of Overseers. He was a driving force behind the creation of the Roth Center for Jewish Life at Dartmouth.

Diana L. Taylor '77 is managing director at Wolfensohn & Company, L.L.C., and former New York State superintendent of banks. As superintendent, she was regulator for more than 3,500 financial institutions with assets totaling over $1.5 trillion. She has served Dartmouth as an Alumni Fund volunteer, a class officer, and a member of her class Reunion Giving Committee.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 10/7/08