Skip to main content

8th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Social Justice Awards

Ceremony and Panel Discussion

Friday, January 30
5 pm, Collis Common Ground


Join us in honoring and hearing about the lives and careers of Dartmouth community members who have enriched our world through their contributions to issues of social justice. The ceremony will include a panel discussion with the honorees and will be followed by a reception. Co-sponsored by the Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration, Office of Institutional Diversity & Equity, William Jewett Tucker Foundation, Dartmouth Medical School, and John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding.

Kul Chandra Gautam '72Lester B. Granger '18 Award for Lifetime Achievement
Kul Chandra Gautam '72 is the former Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations and Deputy Executive Director of UNICEF. The highest-ranking Nepali in the U.N. system, he worked hard informally to promote peace and reconciliation in Nepal during the decade-long civil war. See also Dickey Center Lecture on February 2.


Ricki Stern '87Ongoing Commitment
Ricki Stern '87 is the co-director and producer of The End of America, which makes a chilling case that American democracy is under grave threat; The Devil Came on Horseback, a documentary on Darfur; and The Trials of Darryl Hunt, about a man who spent 20 years in prison for a crime of which he was innocent.



Emerging Leadership
Sons of LwalaDr. Milton Ochieng' '04 and Frederick Ochieng' '05 are the founders of the Lwala Health Clinic in Kenya and of the Lwala Community Alliance, which works to support an empowered and equipped community movement to advance health, educational opportunities, and economic freedom in Lwala and beyond.



Student Group
DreamThe Dartmouth chapter of DREAM is a student-led mentoring organization that matches Dartmouth College students with youth from disadvantaged neighborhoods, with the aim of empowering children to recognize their options, make informed decisions, and achieve their dreams.

Nominate a candidate for the 2010 Social Justice Awards.


Last Updated: 7/24/18