Presidential Search Statement 

The Search for Dartmouth’s Next President

The Board of Trustees is conducting a search for a successor to President Philip J. Hanlon ’77, who has announced his intention to step down from the role in June 2023. Since Dartmouth’s founding in 1769, it has had only 18 presidents, underscoring the importance of this process.

The Presidential Search Committee, chaired by Trustees Susan Huang ’84 and Christopher Lord ’86, includes members drawn from faculty, staff, students, alumni, and trustees. The committee is assisted by Spencer Stuart, a global executive search and leadership advisory firm.

The Search Committee has sought input from the Dartmouth community through a series of listening sessions, a survey on the presidential search, and direct feedback submitted to the presidential search inbox. With this input, the committee has identified the most important qualities and strengths for Dartmouth’s future president, which are outlined in our Presidential Search Statement.

I encourage you to share any further feedback, suggestions, and nominations through the presidential search inbox at dartmouth@spencerstuart.com.

On behalf of the Search Committee, we are excited to identify Dartmouth’s 19th president in the Wheelock Succession. We seek an inspiring, innovative, and strategic thinker, with a bold and aspirational vision for Dartmouth that respects our traditions while leading the institution forward at a transformational moment in higher education.



—Elizabeth Cahill Lempres ’83, Thayer ’84, Chair of the Board of Trustees

Read all the latest news on the presidential search here.