2020 Social Justice Awards

Join us on Thursday, January 30th at our Social Justice Award ceremony, "Conversations with ChangeMakers", as we honor this year's winners. For more information on the ceremony, click here


*Nominations for the 2020 awards are now closed.*

Please read the full award descriptions below. The online nomination form requires:

  • Nominee and nominator contact information
  • Responses to 4 short answer questions
  • Contact information for at least 2, and up to 4, references. References will receive an email from Dartmouth's Office of Institutional Diversity and Equity with a short form requesting their feedback on the candidate. Student groups can provide the contact information from their advisor & a current or former member. Nominators are encouraged to contact the references to let them know to expect an email from IDE, as nominations will not be considered complete without completed reference forms. References who wish to provide additional information are welcome to email a recommendation letter to Institutional.Diversity.and.Equity@Dartmouth.edu.

Nominations are due Wednesday, November 6, 2019. Selections are made in mid-late November.


The Martin Luther King Jr. Social Justice Awards

The Lester B. Granger ’18 Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Holly Fell Sateia Award

The Martin Luther King Jr. Social Justice Awards

Dartmouth’s Social Justice Awards, co-sponsored by the Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee, Office of Institutional Diversity & Equity, William Jewett Tucker Center, Dartmouth Center for Social Impact, and Geisel School of Medicine, were established to recognize members of the Dartmouth community including alumni/ae, current and former faculty, staff, student groups and others with ties to the college, who have contributed significantly to peace, civil rights, education, public health, environmental justice, or social justice. The awards honor members of the Dartmouth community who have demonstrated their compassion, perseverance, courage, and leadership by engaging in the difficult work of fostering human dignity and our common humanity through their projects, programs, and visions.

The awards are given in four categories:  Emerging Leadership, Ongoing Commitment, Lifetime Achievement and Student Organization.

  • Emerging Leadership honors an individual who has served less than 10 years in their chosen field of work or is a recent graduate. 
  • Ongoing Leadership honors an individual who has served between 10 and 20 years in their chosen field of work. 
  • Lifetime Achievement honors honors an individual who has dedicated more than 20 years to their chosen field. 
  • Student Organization honors a student group for its commitment to promoting social justice in our community and beyond.  (Note that to be eligible for this award, student organizations must (A) be a Dartmouth-sponsored/supported group OR (B) have an active presence on the Dartmouth campus.)

The Lester B. Granger ’18 Award for Lifetime Achievement

Presented by the Dartmouth Center for Social Impact

The William Jewett Tucker Foundation established the Lester B. Granger ’18 Award in the spring of 2002. Lester Granger was one of four brothers who attended Dartmouth College. His distinguished career included working as a teacher, coach, social worker, and youth counselor; he was best known for serving as the executive director of the Urban League for 20 years. A veteran of World War I, Granger was asked by President Roosevelt to be the special advisor to the Secretary of the Navy on Negro personnel, and was nationally known for his leadership in eliminating racism and his attention to issues of poverty. Among other honors, Granger received the Navy’s Distinguished Civilian Service Medal and was awarded the President’s Medal for Merit by President Truman. In 1951 he became the first African American to be nominated as president of the National Conference of Social Work, and in 1961 he was elected in Rome as the President of the International Conference of Social Work. In retirement, Granger taught at the college level and served as a trustee for several colleges and non-profit organizations. He remained an enthusiastic member of his Dartmouth class and actively participated in alumni activities. He received an honorary degree from Dartmouth in 1946.

The Granger Award is presented annually to a Dartmouth College graduate or graduates whose lifelong commitment to public service has been exemplary. Granger Award recipients have exhibited leadership and innovation in meeting community needs and benefiting an underserved population

The Holly Fell Sateia Award

The Holly Fell Sateia Award was established by President Jim Yong Kim and Provost Carol Folt in 2011 to honor the legacy of Holly Fell Sateia MALS’82, Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity, Emerita, and to recognize diversity as a vibrant part of Dartmouth’s mission. This award recognizes a faculty or staff member at Dartmouth who is an enthusiastic and effective leader in advancing diversity and community.

 All faculty and staff at Dartmouth are eligible for this award. Nominees should demonstrate an enduring interest in and ability to build and enhance diversity, through sustained effort and work, enriching the lives of surrounding community members. This enrichment helps foster a safe environment in which a community can learn, collaborate, and innovate.

Read about the 2020 Award Winners or see the Full Awards Archive