Skip to main content

Undergraduate Advising and Research
Parker House, HB 6201
Hanover, NH
Phone:  603.646.3690
Fax:  603.646.8190
Home >  Symposium

2013 Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium

The 22nd annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium, Dartmouth's annual celebration of undergraduate research, took place on Thursday, May 23, 2013. 171 undergraduate students presented 150 research posters to the Dartmouth community at the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center. Faculty, students and members of the public came to view posters created by a record number of participants, including first and second year WISP research interns, Sophomore Science Scholars, James O. Freedman Presidential scholars, Senior Honors students, and many others. Research on display represented all college science division departments plus Anthropology, Education, Environmental Studies, Psychological & Brain Sciences, the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab (CRREL), and many departments from the Geisel School of Medicine and Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center.


Click on the image above to view selected photos from the 2013 Wetterhahn Science Symposium.


Keynote Address

Terry Plank

Terry Plank, Professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University, gave the keynote for the symposium.  Literally born in a rock quarry in Delaware, Dr. Plank has been a geologist one way or another her whole life. After mapping quartz diorites in high school and quartz monzonites while an undergraduate at Dartmouth College, Dr. Plank moved on to study volcanoes at mid-ocean ridges and subduction zones while getting her Ph.D. at Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University.  While a post-doc at Cornell University and a faculty member at the University of Kansas and Boston University, she studied cycling of mass and fluids through subduction zones, from oceanic input to volcanic output, and laboratory studies of what happens in between.  Dr. Plank then moved back to Columbia University in 2008 where she now focuses on the volatile contents of magmas, specifically how water drives magma genesis, ascent and eruption. Fieldwork has taken her to the Aleutian Islands, Nicaragua and out to sea. A fellow of the American Geophysical Union, Mineralogical Society of America and Geochemical Society, Dr. Plank was also recently named a MacArthur Fellow in 2012. While an undergraduate at Dartmouth, she was at various times on the women's field hockey team, member of Cabin and Trail and the Film Society, performed onstage in the theater and sang in the Dartmouth Glee Club and Handel Society. On the Dartmouth Earth Science "Stretch" she spent a semester doing fieldwork in New England, Wyoming, Lake Powell, Mexico and Costa Rica, where inspiration under the volcanoes set her current path. 

Dr. Plank's talk was entitled, "Under Volcanoes: What drives explosive eruptions?"  Click on the image below to view the keynote address:

To view the full video of the keynote address preceded by the symposium opening remarks (including Reed Competition winners and WISP faculty recognitions), click HERE.

Christopher G. Reed Science Competition

The Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Honor Society, once again organized the annual Christopher G. Reed Science Competition. Congratulations to the 2013 winners:

  • 1st prize - Sarah Khan, Advisor: C. Robertson McClung, Biology - "Genetic analysis of the shade avoidance response in Brassica rapa"
  • 2nd prize - Ellen Roy, Advisor: Meredith Kelly, Earth Sciences - "Developing a Holocene temperature record from lake sediments in northwest Greenland"
  • 2nd prize - Angela Gauthier, Advisor: David Bucci, Psychological & Brain Sciences - "Social interaction in the rat brain and effects of cross-fostering WKY/SHR rats on behavior"
  • 3rd prize - Tyrone DeSpenza, Jr., Advisor: Bryan Luikart, Physiology - "The effect of Pten point mutations in individuals with autism spectrum disorder"
  • 3rd prize  - Thomas Das, Advisor: Sharon Bickel, Biology - "The effect of oxidative damage on meiotic chromosome segregation in Drosophila melanogaster oocytes"

Thanks to the dedicated Sigma Xi faculty judges: Chuck Daghlian, Ripple Microscope Facility; Robyn Barbato, CRREL; Meredith Kelly, Earth Sciences; Douglas Van Citters, Engineering; and Dean Wilcox, Chemistry.

Faculty Recognition

The Women in Science Project is deeply grateful to all the faculty sponsors, assistant sponsors and other research advisors who guide, coach and mentor the young emerging scientists who participate in the WISP Research Internship Program. This year, WISP was pleased to honor the following individuals for their commitment and dedication as long time WISP faculty mentors:

For 5 years:

  • Donna Coch, Associate Professor of Education
  • Lorie Loeb, Research Associate Professor of Computer Science
  • Mark McGovern, Professor of Psychiatry
  • Kathleen Muldoon, Assistant Professor of Anatomy, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology
  • Brad W. Taylor, Assistant Professor of Biological Science

For 10 years:

  • John Collier, Myron Tribus Professor of Engineering Innovation


Last Updated: 2/6/15