Skip to main content

Undergraduate Advising and Research
Parker House, HB 6201
Hanover, NH
Phone:  603.646.3690
Fax:  603.646.8190
Home >  Symposium

2009 Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium

The 18th annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium, Dartmouth's annual celebration of undergraduate research, took place on Thursday and Friday, May 21-22, with 125 students presenting 114 research posters to share their science with the Dartmouth community.

All four floors of Fairchild Tower were filled with faculty, students and family members who came to view this record number of posters created by first and second year WISP research interns, Howard Hughes interns, Presidential scholars, senior thesis students and others. Research on display represented all college science division departments plus Anthropology, Digital Humanities, Education, Environmental Studies, Geography, Psychology and Brain Sciences, the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab, the Veterans Affairs Medical Center and the following departments from Dartmouth Medical School: Biochemistry, Genetics, Medicine, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology and Surgery.

Keynote Address

Ginny Eckert

With support from the Dickey Center Institute for Arctic Studies, Dartmouth alumna Dr. Ginny Eckert '90, Associate Professor at the Juneau Center of the School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, returned to campus to give the keynote address. She also spent time during the day to meet informally with students and faculty members and to promote the interdisciplinary graduate program she directs in Juneau, Marine Ecosystem Sustainability in the Arctic and Subarctic (MESAS).

Dr. Eckert is Associate Professor at the Juneau Center of the School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, where she directs the interdisciplinary graduate program in Marine Ecosystem Sustainability in the Arctic and Subarctic. Her current research program on invertebrate reproduction and early life history addresses critical questions in the field of marine ecology and fisheries management and is driven by the need to sustainably manage living marine resources. She earned her Ph.D. in Ecology from the University of California at Santa Barbara in 1999, a MS in Zoology from the University of Florida in 1994, and her BA in Biology from Dartmouth in 1990. Her interest in ecological research was sparked on the Dartmouth Biology Foreign Study Program in Tropical Ecology.

Christopher G. Reed Science Competition

The Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Honor Society, once again organized the annual Christopher Reed Senior Honors Thesis Competition. Congratulations to the following 2009 winners:

First Prize
     Brendan Anderson, Advisor:  Kevin Peterson, Biological Sciences, Title: "Affinity for open-ocean facing habitats: A potential bias against the preservation of modern faunal elements in the Paleozoic"

Second Prize
     Laura Hester, Advisor:  Xun Shi, Geography, Title: "Spatial and temporal analysis of New Hampshire's fatal prescription opioid deaths"

Third Prize(s)
     Bridget Alex, Advisors:  Deborah Nichols, Anthropology, and Brian Jackson, Earth Sciences, Title: "Multi-method analysis of pre-Teotihuacan ceramics"
     Floyd Buen, Advisor:  Ta Yuan Chang, Biochemistry, Title: "Effect of oxysterols on human amyloid precursor protein expression in neurons"
     Kelly Everhart, Advisor:  Xiahong Feng and Eric Posmentier, Earth Sciences, Title: "Seasonal and diurnal variations in the isotopic signature of local atmospheric water vapor"

Our thanks to the dedicated Sigma Xi faculty judges: Chuck Daghlian, Biology and Electron Microscope Facility; Natasha Grotz, Biological Sciences, Charles Reynolds, Cold Regions Research an d Engineering laboratory, Tim Smith, Physics and Astronomy; Susan Taylor, Earth Sciences and CRREL; and Dean Wilcox, Chemistry.

Faculty Recognition

The Women in Science Project is deeply grateful to all the faculty sponsors, assistant sponsors and other research advisors who guide, coach and mentor young emerging scientists in the WISP Research Internship Program. The following faculty members and researchers were honored by WISP for their commitment and dedication to undergraduate research as long time sponsors of WISP research interns:

For 5 years:

  • Chris Bailey-Kellogg, Computer Science
  • Robert Haehnel, CRREL
  • Rebecca Irwin, Biological Sciences
  • Kristina Lynch, Physics & Astronomy
  • Dorothy Wallace, Mathematics

For 10 years:

  • Ian Baker, Engineering Sciences
  • Xiahong Feng, Earth Sciences
  • Thomas Jack, Biological Sciences
  • Susan Taylor, Earth Sciences and CRREL

For 15 years:

  • Christopher G. Levey, Engineering Sciences


Last Updated: 8/23/13