Skip to main content

Undergraduate Advising and Research
Parker House, HB 6201
Hanover, NH
Phone:  603.646.3690
Fax:  603.646.8190
Home >  Symposium

2008 Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium

This year commemorates the tenth anniversary of naming the symposium in memory of Karen E Wetterhahn (1948-1997), Professor of Chemistry, who co-founded the Women in Science Project in 1990 when she was Associate Dean for the Sciences. Professor Wetterhahn guided many undergraduates in her research program. Her portrait hangs in the stairwell of Baker Library.

The 17th annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium, Dartmouth's annual celebration of undergraduate research, took place on Thursday and Friday, May 22-23 where over 100 students, from first years through seniors, shared their research with the Dartmouth community. This year the symposium also celebrated the 10th anniversary of the Dartmouth Undergraduate Journal of Science (DUJS), and the Kresge Library presented a very special exhibit on science communication.

From Anatomy and Biochemistry to Physics and Physiology, WISP interns, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Fellows, senior thesis students and other student researchers filled four floors of Fairchild Tower with high quality research posters representing all college science departments, Education, Psychological & Brain Sciences, the Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab (CRREL), and many Dartmouth Medical School Departments.

Keynote Address

Pamela J. Hines

Invited keynote speaker Dr. Pamela Hines, Senior Editor at Science Magazine (AAAS), spent time throughout the day meeting with Dartmouth faculty and administrators and talking with undergraduate and graduate students about the research publication process and science writing careers. Her keynote entitled "Science at the Leading Edge" addressed some of the issues and challenges of communicating cutting edge science to a broader audience.

Dr. Hines is a senior editor at Science, the international weekly journal published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). She recruits, selects, and reviews research manuscripts, and also develops special issues and Review articles on various topics. In addition, she manages Science's Education Forum, with a focus on science education and the science of education. She is an expert in the field of developmental and molecular biology, and has expanded Science's leadership role in highlighting developmental neurobiology, developmental biology, plant sciences, and stem cell research. In the course of her work at Science, Dr. Hines has followed research around the world and across disciplinary boundaries. While obtaining her degrees, she conducted research on chromatin, gene control, and the mechanisms of DNA replication in eukaryotes during early development. Throughout that time, Dr. Hines taught various subjects, including vertebrate physiology, comparative anatomy, and developmental and molecular biology. Her areas of interest include developmental neurobiology, stem cells, education, plant science, and developmental biology. Dr. Hines received her A.B. from Oberlin College, her M.S. degree from the University of Wisconsin, and her Ph.D. from the Johns Hopkins University.

Christopher G. Reed Science Competition

The Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Honor Society, offered cash prizes and nomination as associate members to the top five seniors participating in the annual Christopher Reed Science Competition. Congratulations to the 2008 winners!

First place
Jessica Ogden (Engineering Sciences major), who worked with Professor P. Jack Hoopes, DMS Surgery
"Toxicity and efficacy of iron oxide nanoparticles for cancer therapy"

Second Place (Co-winners)
Katherine Boldt (Earth Sciences major), who worked with Professor Brian Dade, Earth Sciences
"An emerging regional stratigraphic record of intense hurricane landfall in southeastern New England"
— and —
Matthew Davis (Neuroscience major), who worked with Professor Leslie Henderson, DMS Physiology
"Anabolic androgenic steroid modulation of neuronal activity in GnRH and non-GnRH neurons of the forebrain"

Third Place (co-winners)
Zachary Mayer (Biological Sciences major), who worked with Professor Kathryn Cottingham
"Feedbacks between Gloeotrichia echinulata's meroplanktonic life cycle and phosphorus cycling in a freshwater lake"
— and —
Mita Sharma (Neuroscience major), who worked with Professor David Bucci, Psychological & Brain Sciences
"Effects of physical exercise on cognitive function: Implications for attention disorders"

Our deep appreciation to the dedicated Sigma Xi faculty judges: Chuck Daghlian, Biology and Electron Microscope Facility; Tim Smith, Physics and Astronomy; Susan Taylor, Earth Sciences and CRREL; and Dean Wilcox, Chemistry and to all the faculty sponsors, assistant sponsors and others who helped to create a successful symposium.

Faculty Recognition

The Women in Science Project is deeply grateful to all the faculty sponsors, assistant sponsors and other research advisors who guide, coach and mentor the young emerging scientists who participate in the WISP Research Internship Program.  Special tribute was paid to two faculty members for their long-term dedication and support of undergraduate education through research advising and mentoring: 

For 15 years:

  • Joshua Hamilton, Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • C. Robertson McClung, Professor of Biology and Associate Dean of Faculty for the Sciences


Last Updated: 8/23/13