Skip to main content

Connect with Tucker!

Find Us On Campus

Tucker Foundation
6154 South Fairbanks Hall
Hanover, NH
Phone: (603) 646-3350
Fax: (603) 646-2645
Email: Tucker.Foundation@Dartmouth.EDU

Upcoming Events


Tucker Student Spotlight

Jessica Fedin '17

Jessica Fedin '17
Hillel Intern, Webmaster

Major: Geography

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

Read the full interview

The William Jewett Tucker Foundation educates Dartmouth students for lives of purpose and ethical leadership, rooted in service, spirituality, and social justice.

Tucker at a Glance

Important Announcement

Tucker Foundation's Mission to Be Served Through Two Centers

Two new centers will carry on the work of the William Jewett Tucker Foundation. One will focus on religious and spiritual life and one will be dedicated to public service. 
Read more at Dartmouth Now | Read the Frequently Asked Questions

Apply for a Tucker Fellowship in South Africa!

Looking for a meaningful way to spend 15S? Interested in working with the youth in South Africa?

The Tucker Foundation is offering a fellowship opportunity with the Kliptown Youth Program (KYP) in South Africa for the spring of 2015. The fellowship will send two students to work in the youth program, where they will help with different aspects of the program including tutoring students ages 5-15 in English, working one-on-one with older teens on college applications, and serving as mentors to support KYP's overall mission of empowering youth through educational support & after-school activities.

Blitz for more info.

3rd Annual Servant Leadership Essay Contest

M. Scott Peck writes that, "Servant-leadership is more than a concept, it is a fact. Any great leader, by which I also mean an ethical leader of any group, will see herself or himself as a servant of that group and will act accordingly." For the purposes of this award, "servant leadership" is defined as "the skills of influencing people to enthusiastically work toward goals identified as being for the common good, with character that inspires confidence" (Hunter, 2004, 32). A servant leads by influence and character rather than by coercion or power. Servant leadership is a relational-based approach to leadership. It sets aside the leader's own wants and needs in seeking the greater good of others (Id.).

This essay contest is open to current Dartmouth undergraduate students and any essay (previously written or original) is eligible.  In 1000-1500 words, respond to the following prompt:

"Serving others" is a term that is used in many different contexts. Please discuss its importance pertaining to leadership. Specifically, how can one lead from a position that is absent of inherent power, and how does service come into play? Illustrate your point through an example of a specific leader or a personal experience.

  • Essays must be submitted to with the subject line "Servant Leadership Essay Contest" by January 19, 2015
  • Winners will be announced on January 26, 2015
  • Cash prizes include $500 for first place, $300 for second place, and $200 for third place

Create your own Upper Valley service project!

The Class of 1982 Upper Valley Social Entrepreneurship (UVSE) Fellowship is awarded annually to one Dartmouth undergraduate and supports the establishment of new, ongoing initiatives that expand economic and social opportunities for low-income people in the Upper Valley region on a sustainable basis. Projects should emphasize program entrepreneurship, revenue-generation or cost recovery, or community outreach and engagement. The grant covers one full-time leave term of immersion at the fellowship site and several terms of part-time involvement. Fellows must collaborate with a local non-profit organization or school.  For more information, click here.

Deadline: February 13, 2014 at 5PM


Click here for previous news from the Tucker Foundation.


Top of page

Last Updated: 12/5/14