Skip to main content

Office of the Provost

6004 Parkhurst Hall, Room 102
Hanover, NH 03755-3529
Phone: (603) 646-2404
Fax: (603) 646-3773
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Provost is Dartmouth's chief academic officer, directly responsible for overseeing the overall academic integrity of the entire institution and for those operations transcending the work of a single faculty. Dartmouth's professional schools, major academic support units, and several other offices, academic centers and institutes report to the Provost.

Call for Dean of the College Applications and Nominations

The Office of the Provost is now accepting applications and nominations for the new Dean of the College. Interested persons are asked to submit a CV and brief letter of interest via email to Patricia Moffitt ( Nominations along with a brief statement of support should also be sent to the same address. To ensure full consideration, materials should be received no later than May 4.

Reporting to the Provost, the dean is the senior officer responsible for the areas of undergraduate academic life, including the creation of the academic mission behind both residential house communities and the house professors directing those communities; leadership on student inclusivity and diversity; and strategic planning for admissions and financial aid.

She or he will be a tenured, full professor at Dartmouth with a strong record of teaching and a demonstrated capacity for leadership in students' academic experience.

Additional information may be found here.


Cluster Initiative

As a pillar of President Hanlon's academic vision for Dartmouth, the cluster initiative will extend Dartmouth's impact on the world through interdisciplinary faculty teams who collaborate at the leading edge of discovery. Click here for more information about the cluster initiative.

Seed Funding Programs

The Office of the Provost has announced two internal seed funding programs to launch new scholarship, research, and creativity at Dartmouth. Faculty members in all departments and each of the professional schools are encouraged to apply for pilot funds and/or cross-disciplinary collaboration funds. Click here for more detailed information about the seed funding programs.

Society Of Fellows

Founded in 2014, under the leadership of President Philip Hanlon, the Society of Fellows—comprising Faculty Fellows, Postdoctoral Fellows, and Visiting Fellows—aims to foster intellectual and interdisciplinary community, and the integration of research with teaching excellence. The Society is administered by a Faculty Director, a Program Administrator, and Faculty Fellows, who recommend the appointment of Postdoctoral Society Fellows and Visiting Fellows. Click here to visit the Society of Fellows page for more information.

Stamps Leadership Scholar Awards

In Partnership with the Stamps Family Charitable Foundations (SFCF), Dartmouth College is offering Stamps Leadership Scholar Awards to exceptional rising junior students who exemplify leadership, perseverance, scholarship, service and innovation. Stamps Leadership Scholars have access to an enrichment fund to engage in experiential learning activities that can be spread over on and off terms during the academic year. Click here for detailed information about the Penelope W. and E. Roe Stamps IV Leadership Scholar Awards and the application process.





Last Updated: 4/21/15