Skip to main content

The President's Plan

Moving Dartmouth Forward

Office Hours


Tuesdays, 4-5pm


Fridays, 3-4pm

Please check here for cancellations.

The Wheelock Succession of Dartmouth Presidents

DANIEL DANA, 1820-1821

Daniel Dana

Reluctant to take on the presidency of an institution so recently embattled, Daniel Dana, a Newburyport, Massachusetts, minister was finally convinced by the Trustees to become the fourth president in the Wheelock Succession in 1820. Plagued by ill health and exhausted by the strain of the presidency, he resigned just one year later.

< back | index | next >

Last Updated: 6/25/09