DARTMOUTH COLLEGE

Upcoming Events    |    Contact Us    |    Search    |    Dartmouth Home    |    Site Map      

Home Undergraduate Menu Graduate Menu Research Menu People Menu About Menu

   Overview

   Department Chair

   Undergraduate Advisor

   Chair, Graduate Admissions

 Faculty

   Postdoc Associates

   Graduate Students

   Majors

   Support Staff

Home > People > Faculty

Faculty

Sort by:   Research Area    Committee Assignment


Faculty

Stephon Alexander
Associate Professor

Ph.D Brown, 2000 Particles and Fields, Relativity and Cosmology, Quantum Gravity. Theoretical Cosmology, Early Universe Cosmology, Large Scale Structure, String Theory, Loop Quantum Gravity, Mathematics of Music.

Office: 248 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2963
Email: Stephon.Alexander@dartmouth.edu

 

Miles Blencowe
Professor

(Ph.D., London, 1989) Mesoscopic condensed matter theory; open quantum systems; the quantum-classical correspondence

Office: Observatory
Phone: (603) 646-2969
Email: Miles.P.Blencowe@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Robert Caldwell
Professor
Chair, Graduate
Admissions

(Ph.D., Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1992) Theoretical cosmology, gravitation, and relativistic astrophysics.

Office: 237 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2742
Email: Robert.R.Caldwell@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Brian Chaboyer
Professor

(Ph.D., Yale, 1993) Structure and evolution of stars, theoretical stellar astrophysics, formation of the Milky Way.

Office: 249 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-3684
Email: Brian.Chaboyer@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Robert A. Fesen
Professor

(Ph.D., Michigan, 1981) Optical, UV and X-ray studies of supernovae and supernova remnants, the interstellar medium, shock waves, and Wolf-Rayet stars.

Office: 342 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2949
Email: Robert.A.Fesen@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Marcelo Gleiser
Professor

(Ph.D., London, 1986) Field theory, cosmology, and non-equilibrium physics.

Office: 116 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-1489
Email: Marcelo.Gleiser@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Ryan C. Hickox
Assistant Professor

(Ph.D., Harvard, 2007) The cosmological evolution of galaxies and supermassive black holes, through X-ray, optical, and infrared observations

Office: 241 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2962
Email: Ryan dot C dot Hickox at dartmouth dot edu

 

Mary K. Hudson
Professor

(Ph.D., UCLA, 1974) Space plasma theory, plasma simulation; auroral particle acceleration and heating, ring current-plasmapause interaction, radiation belts and effects of geomagnetic storms.

Office: 236 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2976
Email: Mary.K.Hudson@Dartmouth.EDU

 

James W. LaBelle
Professor
Department Chair

(Ph.D., Cornell, 1985) Ionospheric and magnetospheric physics; plasma measurements in space; remote sensing of ionospheric plasma processes.

Office: 336 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2973
Email: James.W.LaBelle@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Kristina Lynch
Professor
Undergraduate Advisor

(Ph.D., Univ. of New Hampshire, 1992) Auroral space plasma physics, ionospheric and mesospheric sounding rocket experiments, instrumentation, and data analysis, wave-particle interactions in the auroral ionosphere.

Office: 303A Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-9311
Email: Kristina.Lynch@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Robyn Millan
Associate Professor

(Ph.D., U.C. Berkeley, 2002) Space physics; radiation belt electron losses, X-ray instrumentation for studying relativistic electron precipitation.

Office: 244 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-3969
Email: Robyn.M.Millan@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Chandrasekhar Ramanathan
Assistant Professor

(Sc.D. MIT 1996): Experimental condensed matter physics and quantum information science: electron and nuclear spin resonance, measurement and control of many-body spin dynamics.

Office: 238 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-9780
Email: Chandrasekhar.Ramanathan@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Alexander J. Rimberg
Professor

(Ph. D., Harvard, 1992) Electrical transport measurements of nanostructures: quantum information science and quantum measurements; controlled physical realizations of open quantum systems; quantum noise and non-equilibrium effects.

Office: 101 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-6569
Email: Alexander.J.Rimberg@Dartmouth.edu

 

Barrett N. Rogers
Professor

(Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1991) Theoretical and computational plasma physics, space and astrophysical plasmas, controlled fusion, magnetic reconnection, plasma turbulence.

Office: 246 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-0186
Email: Barrett.N.Rogers@Dartmouth.EDU

 

John R. Thorstensen
Professor

(Ph.D., UC-Berkeley, 1980) Optical studies of close binary stars; large-scale structure of the universe.

Office: 239 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2869
Email: John.R.Thorstensen@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Lorenza Viola
Professor

(Ph.D., Padua, 1996) Quantum information physics: Modeling and control of quantum noise; fault-tolerant quantum information processing; physical realizations of information; characterization and measures of entanglement; quantum measurement; quantum-classical correspondence.

Office: 247 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2528
Email: Lorenza.Viola@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Gary A. Wegner
Professor

(Ph.D., Washington, 1971) Cosmology, large-scale structure of the universe, end states of stellar evolution.

Office: 221 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-3329
Email: Gary.A.Wegner@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Kevin Wright
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Rochester, 2009) Ultra-cold quantum gases, strongly correlated quantum matter, quantum information, neutral atoms in optical lattices and cavities.

Office: 245 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2751
Email: Kevin.Wright@dartmouth.edu

 

Martin N. Wybourne
Professor
Vice-Provost for Research

(Ph.D., Nottingham, 1980) Non-equilibrium transport in small structures, energy relaxation and charging effects in metal wires and nanoclusters, and collective effects in semiconductor quantum point contacts.

Office: 201A Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-4091
Email: Martin.N.Wybourne@Dartmouth.EDU

Research Faculty

Philippe Crane
Research Professor

(Ph.D. Yale, 1969) Interstellar Medium; Astrophysical Jets; Galactic Nuclei.

Email: Philippe.Crane@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Richard Denton
Research Professor

(Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1986) Computational plasma physics involving linear theory and particle and fluid simulations. Recent subject of study; wave phenomena and wave-particle interactions in magnetosphere, reconnection.

Office: 301A Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2732
Email: richard dot e dot denton at dartmouth dot edu

 

Brian Kress
Research Associate Professor

(Ph.D., Dartmouth, 2002) Fluid and magnetofluid dynamics; numerical methods in fluid dynamics; space plasma physics; radiation belt dynamics.

Office: Observatory
Phone: (603) 646-3238
Email: Brian.T.Kress@Dartmouth.EDU

 

John Lyon
Research Professor

(Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1972) Space plasma physics and magnetospheric physics; numerical simulation and computational physics.

Office: 240 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-1242
Email: John.G.Lyon@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Hans Müller
Research Associate Professor

(Ph.D., Dartmouth College, 1997) Space plasma physics and heliospheric physics; numerical simulations and theoretical astrophysics.

Office: Shattuck Observatory
Phone: (603) 646-0428
Email: Hans.Mueller@DartmouthdotEDU

Visiting Faculty

Yorke Brown
Visiting Associate Professor

(Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1979) Low temperature physics, psychophysics of vehicle simulation, motion control engineering, and astronomical instrumentation.

Office: 303A
Phone: (603) 646-1315
Email: yorke.brown@dartmouth.edu

 

Roberto Onofrio
Visiting Professor

( Ph.D. Rome, 1991 ) Macroscopic quantum phenomena, elementary particle physics, cosmology and astrophysics.

Office: 201 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-3541
Email: Roberto.Onofrio@Dartmouth.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Alexander Barnett
Adjunct Associate Professor

Ph.D. Harvard, 2000

Department of Mathematics
Dartmouth College
Email: ahb@math.dartmouth.edu

 

Alain Brizard
Adjunct Associate Professor

(Ph.D., Princeton, 1990) Low-frequency nonlinear gyrokinetic theory, relativistic quasilinear transport driven by arbitrary-frequency electromagnetic flucuations, variational formulations of exact and reduced, kinetic and fluid plasmas equations, applications of Lie-transform methods in plasma physics.

Department of Chemistry and Physics
Saint Michael's College, Box 254
One Winooski Park, Colchester, VT 05439
Email: abrizard@smcvt.edu

 

Theodore Fulton
Adjunct Professor

(Ph.D., Cornell, 1966) Condensed matter physics

Email: Theodore.A.Fulton@Dartmouth.edu

 

Christopher G. Levey
Adjunct Associate Professor

(Ph.D., Wisconsin, 1984) Microfabrication technology, micro optical and electromechanical systems (MEMS)

Office: 217 Cummings
Phone: (603) 646-2071
Email: Christopher.Levey@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Jifeng Liu
Adjunct Assistant Professor

(Ph.D., MIT 2006) Optoelectronics materials and devices; Nanophotonics for solar cells and concentrated solar power (CSP); Electtronic-Phontonic Integration

Office: 227 Cummings
Phone: (603) 646-9885
Email: Jifeng.Liu@Dartmouth.edu

 

William Lotko
Adjunct Professor

(Ph.D., Physics, University of California, Los Angeles 1981) Geospace environment; space plasma physics, modeling, simulation; electromagnetic fields and waves.

Office: 217b Cummings
Phone: (603) 646-3485
Email: William.Lotko@Dartmouth.edu

 

Robert A. Naumann
Adjunct Professor

( Ph.D. Princeton, 1953 ) Adjunct Professor; Professor Emeritus Chemistry and Physics, PrincetonUniversity. Nuclear spectroscopy; muonic atoms

Email: Robert.A.Naumann@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Brian W. Pogue
Adjunct Professor

(Ph.D., Medical Physics, McMaster University (Canada) 1996) Biomedical optics and lasers; medical imaging; image guided spectroscopy of cancer; photodynamic therapy; modeling of tumor pathophysiology and contrast

Phone: (603) 646-3861
Email: Brian.Pogue@Dartmouth.edu

 

Timothy Smith
Adjunct Associate Professor

(Ph.D., Univ. of Massachusetts at Lowell, 1990) Experimental intermediate energy physics; the distribution of quarks in neutrons and protons.

Office: Observatory
Phone: (603) 646-9346
Email: Timothy.P.Smith@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Francesco Ticozzi
Adjunct Assistant Professor

(Ph.D., Padova, 2007) Modeling and control of quantum dynamical systems, (as well as) engineering and protection of quantum information.

Office:
Phone:(603) 646-9946
Email: Francesco.Ticozzi@Dartmouth.edu

 

Aleksandr Ukhorskiy
Adjunct Associate Professor

Ph.D. University of Maryland, 2003

Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins

 

John Weaver
Adjunct Professor

(Ph.D., University of Virgina, 1983) Medical imaging, magnetic nanoparticle sensing and imaging, MRI, MR elastography, radiation dosimetry

Office: DHMC
Phone:(603) 650-7443
Email: John.B.Weaver@Dartmouth.EDU

Emeritus Faculty

William Doyle
Emeritus Professor

(Ph.D., Yale, 1955) Physical properties of inhomogeneous media; magnetic and optical effects in insulating crystals.

Office: 203 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-2965
Email: William.T.Doyle@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Joseph D. Harris
Emeritus Professor

(Ph.D., Purdue, 1955) General relativity and cosmology.

Email: Joseph.D.Harris@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Elisha R. Huggins
Emeritus Professor

(Ph.D., Cal. Tech., 1962) Normal and superfluid vortex dynamics. Use of computers in teaching.

Email: Elisha.R.Huggins@Dartmouth.EDU

 

Walter E. Lawrence
Emeritus Professor

(Ph.D., Cornell, 1970) Condensed matter theory; electron correlations and electron-phonon interactions, quantum information theory, decoherence and quantum measurement.

Email: Jay.Lawrence@Dartmouth.EDU

 

David C. Montgomery
Emeritus Professor

(Ph.D., Princeton, 1959) Theoretical fluid mechanics and plasma physics; recent topics of interest include relaxation of an electron plasma in a Malmberg-Penning trap and "spontaneous spin-up" in a two-dimensional turbulent fluid field.

Office: 203 Wilder
Phone: (603) 646-3219 or (603) 643-2937
FAX: (603) 646-1446
Email: David.C.Montgomery@Dartmouth.EDU