Skip to main content
Home > News >

2014 Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Service Award

The annual Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Service Award was established by Jim and Susan Wright in 2008 to recognize a Dartmouth College staff member who has made a difference to the College and to his or her colleagues; demonstrates a commitment to the highest work ethic and exemplary work performance; is both selfless and unwavering in dedication to the institution; and is relentless in the pursuit of excellence.

Supervisors and co-workers, as well as staff from other departments, faculty, and students, are welcome to nominate employees for the award.  The honoree will be announced and acknowledged at the annual Employee Service Awards dinner in June.

All non-faculty employees who have completed five or more years of service and who are currently in salary grades up to and including PDL C are eligible to be nominated for the Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Service Award. Criteria include:

  • Demonstrated commitment and contribution to the mission and core values of the College;
  • Consistent and excellent job performance;
  • Initiative, innovation, and leadership in the workplace; and
  • Effective and responsible use of time, money, technology, personnel, and other resources for the benefit of the College.

Members of the Dartmouth community who wish to suggest a colleague for the 2014 Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Service Award are encouraged to do so by submitting a nomination form to Lorin Parker by 5:00 PM on Friday, May 2, 2014. The nomination form is available here. Should you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please feel free to contact Lorin Parker via e-mail or by phone at 646-2904.

Please click on the years below to learn more about previous award recipients and their contributions to Dartmouth College.
2009 - Kathy Hart (Hood Museum of Art)
2010 - Ann Lavanway (Biological Sciences)
2011 - C. Robert Lester (Dartmouth Dining Services)
2012 - Gail Vernazza (History Department)
2013 - Keely Ayres (Hopkins Center for the Arts)


Last Updated: 4/28/14