Skip to main content

Department of Classics

Dartmouth College
6086 Reed Hall Room 201
Hanover, NH 03755

(603) 646-3394

Classics.Department@Dartmouth.edu

 

Department Chair
Professor Roberta Stewart

Roberta.L.Stewart@Dartmouth.edu

 

Administrative Staff

 

Therese Perin-Deville (Administrator)

Therese.Perin-Deville@Dartmouth.edu

 

Leslie Barrow (Administrative Assistant)

Leslie.L.Barrow@Dartmouth.edu

 

Carol Bean-Carmody (Academic Assistant)

Carol.A.Bean-Carmody@Dartmouth.edu

 

Please join us on Facebook!

 

 

 

 

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Pramit Chaudhuri

Professor Pramit Chaudhuri
Photo by Joseph Mehling '69

Associate Professor of Classics
309 Reed Hall
(603) 646-2522
E-mail: Pramit.Chaudhuri@Dartmouth.edu

Curriculum Vitae (pdf)

Pramit Chaudhuri received his B.A. (Hons.) in classical literature and philosophy (Literae Humaniores) from Balliol College, Oxford; an M.A. in the history of art from the Courtauld Institute; and a Ph.D. in classics and comparative literature from Yale University. He specializes in the Latin poetry of the early Roman empire, set within a broader study of classical epic and tragedy. His current work explores literary depictions of "theomachy" (conflicts between humans and gods) and their mediation of issues such as religious conflict, philosophical iconoclasm, political struggle, and poetic rivalry. Chaudhuri also studies the reception of classical antiquity in early modern epic and tragedy and in High Renaissance art.

Areas of Specialty

  • Classical and Renaissance Epic and Tragedy (esp. imperial Latin)
  • Literary Theory (esp. ethical criticism)
  • Italian Renaissance Art (esp. mythological and historical painting)

Courses

  • Classical Studies 7: First Year Seminar, How to Read an Epic
  • Latin 1.1: Introductory Latin
  • Latin 3.1: Intermediate Latin
  • Latin 10: Readings in Latin Prose and Poetry
  • Latin 22: Literature and the Republic
  • Latin 24: The Augustan Age
  • Latin 28: Literature of the Later Empire and the Middle Ages

Last Updated: 5/15/14