Skip to main content
ResourcesHome > Resources > Recent Awards >

February 2008

Dartmouth researchers were awarded $4.7 million during February, including $2.6 million in new and competing awards. Among the recipients of recent new and competing grants, as reported by the Office of Sponsored Projects:

Baker, Ian - Thayer School of Engineering

  • National Science Foundation
  • Advanced Microstructural Characterization of Polar Ice Cores

Borsuk, Mark - Thayer School of Engineering
Howarth, R. - Environmental Studies

  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Implications of Using Robust Bayesian Analysis to Represent Diverse Sources of Uncertainty in Integrated Assessments
  • 2 Year Award

Bzik, David - Microbiology & Immunology
Fox, B. - Microbiology & Immunology

  • National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • Regulated Virulence and Cyst Maturation in Toxoplasma gondii

Dmitrovsky, Ethan - Pharmacology & Toxicology

  • Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals Incorporated
  • Proof of Principle Seliciclib Studies in Transgenic Lung Cancer
  • 2 Year Award

Fejes-Toth, Geza – Physiology
deMuinck, D. – Medicine
Fejes-Toth, A. - Physiology

  • National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
  • The Role of Cardiovascular Mineralocorticoid Receptors in Health and Disease

Fesen, Robert - Physics & Astronomy

  • Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Investigating the X-ray Variability of Cassiopeia A

Griswold, Karl - Thayer School of Engineering

  • Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • Engineering a Humanized Alginate Depolymerase for Cystic Fibrosis Therapy

Havrda, Matthew - Norris Cotton Cancer Center

  • National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
  • The Role of Id2 in Adult Neurogenesis

Lerner, Frederick – Psychiatry
Merrick, C. - Psychiatry

  • Duke University
  • PILOTS Consultation Contract

Lewis, Lionel - Medicine

  • ICON Clinical Research
  • Phase I Study of Oral Topotecan in Subjects with Cancer and Impaired Renal Function
  • 2 Year Award

Llewellyn-Thomas, Hilary - Center for Evaluative Clinical Studies

  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • An Innovative Design Strategy for Studying Shared Decision Making in Diverse Orthopaedic Patient Populations
  • 2 Year Award

Madden, Dean - Biochemistry

  • Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • CIF- A Novel Therapeutic Target for Cystic Fibrosis
  • 2 Year Award

Noelle, Randolph - Microbiology & Immunology

  • University of New Hampshire
  • Drug Platform for Cancer and Infectious Disease:  NH IRC Funded Development of Component for Human Use
  • 2 Year Award

Phan, Minh - Thayer School of Engineering

  • University of New Hampshire
  • Numerical Simulation of Ultrasonic Propagation in Medical Application
  • 1.5 Year Award

Pratt, Sarah - Psychiatry

  • National Institute of Mental Health
  • Individually Tailored Psychosocial Rehabilitation for Older People with SMI

Rigas, James - Medicine

  • Genentech Inc.
  • An Observational Study of Avastin in Combination with Chemotherapy for Treatment of Metastatic or Locally Advanced and Unresectable Colorectal Cancer
  • 2 Year Award

Rockmore, Daniel - Mathematics

  • National Science Foundation
  • Digital Art Authentication Using Regularities in Spatial and Photometric Statistics

Sharma, Mukul - Earth Sciences

  • National Science Foundation
  • Collaborative Research:  Intercalibrating Analytical Methods for Osmium Isotopes and Concentrations in Seawater
  • 2 Year Award

Sirovich, Brenda - Medicine

  • Veterans Administration
  • VanVeen IPA
  • 8 Month Award

Stanton, Bruce – Physiology
Marquis, S. – Physiology
O'Toole, G. - Microbiology & Immunology

  • Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • P. aeruginosa Biofilm Formation on Polarized CF Airway Epithelial Cells
  • 2 Year Award

Stecker, Tracy - Community & Family Medicine

  • National Institute of Mental Health
  • Outreach Intervention for OIF Veterans to Promote Use of Mental Health Services
  • 9 Month Award

Waddell, Richard – Medicine
von Reyn, C. - Medicine

  • University of Massachusetts Medical Center
  • AIDS Education and Training Centers
  • 9 Month Award

Award commitment from the sponsoring agency is for a single year unless otherwise indicated.

Last Updated: 10/20/09