Skip to main content
ResourcesHome > Resources > Recent Awards >

May 2005

Dartmouth researchers were awarded $23.8 million during May, including $4.7 million in new and competing awards. Among the recipients of recent new and competing grants, as reported by the Office of Sponsored Projects:

Barrett, J. - Environmental Studies

  • National Science Foundation
  • "Collaborative Research: Hydrological Controls over Biogeochemistry and Microbial Community Structure and Function across Terrestrial/Aquatic Interfaces in a Polar Desert"
  • 3-Year Award

Belanger, D. - Financial Aid

  • Department of Education
  • "College Work Study Program"

Birnie, R. - Earth Sciences
Lotko, W. - Engineering Sciences,
Pavone, M. - Women in Science Project
Thorstensen, J. - Physics and Astronomy

  • University of New Hampshire
  • "New Hampshire Space Grant Consortium"

Booker, M. - Financial Aid

  • Department of Education
  • "Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (SEOG)"

Brakenridge, G. - Geography

  • Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • "JPL-Dartmouth College Flood Sensor Web"

Buckey, J. - Medicine

  • Creare, Inc.
  • " 24-Hour Urinary Calcium Monitoring Test"
  • "Advanced Bubble Detection of Decompression Sickness"

deMuinck, E. - Medicine

  • University of CT Health Center
  • "CD154-CD13 Pathway in Inflammation-Driven Angiogenesis"

Green, W. and Noelle, R. - Microbiology
Usherwood, E. - Microbiology

  • Harvard University
  • "Novel Ways to Optimize CTL Response to Vaccinia Virus"

Groszek, M. - Mathematics

  • Department of Education
  • "Graduate Fellowships in Mathematics at Dartmouth College"

Guerinot, M. - Biological Sciences

  • National Science Foundation
  • "Metal Uptake in Arabidopsis Thaliana"
  • 3-Year Award

Holmes, G. - Medicine

  • Repligen Corporation
  • "Uridine as a Neuroprotective Agent Following SE"

Kennedy, F. - Engineering Sciences

  • Creare, Inc.
  • "Shock Stop II"

Lawrence, M. - Hopkins Center

  • New England Foundation for the Arts
  • "Andre Gingras - Sweet Flesh Room"
  • "Lines Ballet"
  • Bill Shannon - Weeble Tech"

Lee, K. - Surgery

  • American Association of Neurological Surgeons
  • "Mechanism of Action of Deep Brain Stimulation"

Martin, K. - Surgery

  • American Heart Association
  • "Endothelial Cell Regulation of Vascular Smooth Muscle Cell Differentiation by IGF-I"

Nattie, E. - Physiology

  • National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
  • "CSF and The Central Chemical Control of Breathing"
  • 5-Year Award

Orgren, R. - Community and Family Medicine

  • State of New Hampshire
  • "Prenatal Oral Health Education Project"

Pomerance, C. - Mathematics

  • National Science Foundation
  • "Problems in Algorithmic and Combinatorial Number Theory"
  • 3-Year Award

Powell, R. - Surgery

  • Lifeline Foundation
  • "Endothelial Cell Regulation of Vascular Smooth Muscle Cell Differentiation by IGF-I"

Ray, L. - Engineering Sciences

  • National Science Foundation
  • "Smart Electromagnetic Sensors for Structural and Material Damage Identification"
  • 3-Year Award

Rzucidlo, E. - Surgery

  • National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
  • "mTOR Regulation of VSMC Differentiation"
  • 4-Year Award

Simons, M. and Horowitz, A. - Medicine

  • National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
  • "Syndecan Function in Endothelial Cells"
  • 4-Year Award

Skinner, J. - Economics

  • National Bureau of Economic Research, Inc.
  • "Medical Innovation and Hospital Ownership"

Weeks, W. - Community and Family Medicine

  • Veteran's Administration
  • "Collins IPA"
  • "Osborne IPA"

Award commitment from the sponsoring agency is for a single year unless otherwise indicated.

Last Updated: 10/1/09