Skip to main content



The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elevated two Dartmouth professors from the rank of member to the rank of fellow. Mary Lou Guerinot, professor of biological sciences, and Ambrose Cheung, professor of microbiology and immunology at Dartmouth Medical School, are among the 471 new fellows named this year. Both Guerinot and Cheung were elected fellows as part of the section on biological sciences. Cheung was recognized for outstanding contributions to our understanding of bacterial virulence and molecular pathogenesis. Guerinot was honored for her distinguished contributions to the field of metals in biology and for deciphering fundamental mechanisms for iron acquisition, distribution, and regulation in plants. The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Vijay Govindarajan, the Earl C. Daum 1924 Professor of International Business at the Tuck School of Business and director of its Center for Global Leadership, and Richard D'Aveni, professor of strategic management at Tuck, have been named to the 2007 Thinkers 50, a biennial ranking of the world's most influential living management thinkers. Govindarajan moved up eight spots on the list to 23. Praised as a "powerful and passionate communicator," Govindarajan will soon take a one-year leave of absence from Tuck to serve as chief innovation consultant and professor in residence at General Electric. He will, however, continue to teach his popular Implementing Strategy elective in Tuck's M.B.A. program. D'Aveni is "a champion of dynamic strategy over static analysis," according to the ranking's authors. He is credited with creating a new paradigm in the strategy field based on the use of temporary advantages rather than defensive barriers to entry. D'Aveni placed 46th in his first appearance on the list. In addition, Sydney Finkelstein, Steven Roth Professor of Management at Tuck and author of Breakout Strategy and Why Smart Executives Fail, was named as "one to watch."

This fall the Leslie Center for the Humanities hosted "No Laughing Matter: Visual Humor in Ideas of Race, Nationality, and Ethnicity," an institute that examined the ways visual humor has been and is used in connection with ideas central to identity. "Humor can be a form of self-assertion and of defense; it can also be a particularly effective weapon to ridicule others, as is often the case in visual satire and caricature," says Angela Rosenthal, associate professor of art history and director of the institute. "The institute aimed to deepen our understanding of humor's wounding and healing properties." "No Laughing Matter" brought together artists and scholars from a range of disciplines and institutions. Related events included an international conference on visual humor, a meeting of the Northeast American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies, a Hopkins Center performance, and a special exhibition on visual humor at the Hood Museum of Art.

Two Dartmouth Medical School (DMS) researchers received merit awards from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a recognition reserved for accomplished and successful scientists. Charles Barlowe, professor of biochemistry and dean of graduate studies for Dartmouth College, and Ron Taylor, professor of microbiology and immunology at DMS, have each received the awards, based on "superior competence and outstanding productivity," according to the NIH. The awards are made to top NIH grant recipients and are designed to spur creativity with long-term, stable support of up to 10 years. Barlowe has been at DMS since 1994 and focuses on intracellular transport, which is essential for cell growth and function. Taylor joined the DMS faculty in 1993. His work on cholera aims to open new strategies for improved vaccines and therapies against a disease that is life threatening and epidemic in countries around the world. Nine other DMS faculty members have had MERIT awards since 1990. 

Charles Hutchinson, the John H. Krehbiel Sr. Professor for Emerging Technologies and Thayer School dean emeritus, and Professor of Engineering Tillman Gerngross are among three recipients of 2007 Entrepreneur of the Year awards from the New Hampshire High Technology Council. The awards recognize contributions to the advancement of technology-based business in New Hampshire. The two researchers co-founded GlycoFi Inc., a biotechnology company based in Lebanon, N.H., that has developed a novel, yeast-based process for manufacturing therapeutic proteins. Hutchinson and Gerngross served, respectively, as the company's chief executive officer and chief scientific officer from its founding in 2000 until its acquisition by Merck & Co. Inc. in 2006.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 7/24/18