Skip to main content

The Call to Lead

A Campaign for Dartmouth

Office Hours

President Hanlon holds open office hours for students, faculty, and staff. Please check the office hours page for details.


Q and A sessions with President Hanlon and Senior Leaders. Check this page for details.

President’s Diversity Council

Mission and Responsibilities 

The mission of the Dartmouth College Diversity Council is to assist the President, Provost and Vice President of Institutional Diversity & Equity in addressing concerns that impact inclusivity for all members of the Dartmouth Community. Such concerns include but are not limited to the diversity of the student body, faculty and staff. In addition, campus climate concerns should be a major focus for the Council.

The Council is chaired by the Vice President of Institutional Diversity & Equity and consists of 12-15 members:

  • Five to eight staff members on various levels of employment.
  • Three to five faculty members from assistant to full professors and from all four schools.
  • Two to four students from both undergraduate and graduate programs.

Undergraduate students shall be nominated by staff in student affairs via the Dean of the College; graduate and professional students shall be nominated by the Deans of the four graduate and professional schools. The faculty shall be nominated by their deans, associate deans, or department heads. Staff members shall be nominated by their supervisors, or by the VP of IDE. Faculty and staff may also nominate themselves. Members must be approved by the President, Provost and chair of the Council. The Council should represent diversity in as many ways as possible, reflecting the diversity of the campus and community. Council members are appointed for a four-year term, with the option of renewal.

As a functioning Council the group will:

  • Be informed about the statistical makeup of the faculty, staff and students of diverse populations, understanding where the numbers are lower than preferred and help propose means to increase those numbers. The council will review data from the annual Affirmative Action Plan and other campus resources.
  • Be informed about the issues impacting the classroom, work spaces and surrounding communities that can affect members of the community in positive and negative ways.
  • Suggest actions or changes that can enhance the student and staff experience.
  • The group should review information from the campus climate study, and make recommendations for future studies based on information provided by the assessment and research teams. There should be consistent communication between the Council and these two teams.
  • Meet annually with the External Review Committee for Inclusive Excellence.
  • Invite as needed, senior leaders and others to meetings when it is determined that such conversations would benefit the Dartmouth community in moving inclusive activities forward.
  • Make suggestions to the Chair, President and Provost, on ways to enhance our efforts pertaining to diversity and equity, be proactive in exhibiting leadership in discussions and actions. Such suggestions might include review of hiring, promotion, tenure and termination processes by appropriate persons.
  • Host community forums annually in concert with the Inclusive Excellence Executive Committee to assess progress toward the Inclusive Excellence goals.
  • Assist the Chair in helping recruit more Dartmouth employees to become active participants in the College’s diversity mission and goals. These active participants can assist in programming, training, or recruitment and hiring activities, depending on their professional qualifications and interests.

Diversity Council Members:

  • Evelynn Ellis, Vice President, Institutional Diversity and Inclusion
  • Denise M. Garn, Director of Compensation
  • Hannah Silverstein, Senior Writer, Office of Communications
  • Holly Wilkinson, Assistant Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
  • Jane B. Seibel, Assistant Dean of Recruiting, Diversity and Communications
  • Jon K. Plodzik, Director of Dartmouth Dining
  • Julie E. Findley, Chief Operating Officer, Campus Services
  • Keiselim A. Montas, Interim Director and Associate Director of Safety and Security
  • Kenneth Amaya, PhD Student
  • Robyn L. Harris, Program Coordinator, Institutional Diversity and Inclusion
  • Sharon E. Bickel, Associate Professor of Biological Science
  • Tana Perezcastaneda, Chief Operating Officer
  • Keriann KetchamSenior Immigration Advisor to International Students & Scholars
  • Antonio Ferrantino, Director, Institutional Diversity and Inclusion
  • Lisa G. Caldeira, Assistant Director of Communities
  • Kerriann Ketcham, Senior Immigration Advisor to International Students and Scholars

Last Updated: 3/23/20