Tropical Storm Irene Disaster Assistance

Individual Disaster Assistance is available for those affected by Tropical Storm Irene. Use the following information to determine if you live in an affected area and how to apply.

What is disaster assistance?

Disaster assistance is money or direct assistance to individuals, families and businesses in an area whose property has been damaged or destroyed and whose losses are not covered by insurance. It is meant to help you with critical expenses that cannot be covered in other ways. This assistance is not intended to restore your damaged property to its condition before the disaster.

While some housing assistance funds are available through FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, most disaster assistance from the Federal government is in the form of loans administered by the Small Business Administration.

What is the deadline?

If you wish to file for individual disaster assistance you must register with FEMA no later than November 7, 2011.

Eligible counties

New Hampshire

Carroll County Grafton County


Addison County Orange County
Bennington County Orleans County
Caledonia County Rutland County
Chittenden County Washington County
Franklin County Windham County
Lamoille County Windsor County

To apply

Visit or

For more information

If you would like further information regarding disaster assistance available from the Federal Government, please visit the above listed websites. You may also review the following document provided by FEMA.

Individual Assistance Fact Sheet (pdf)