Home >

About Us

Directors: Doug Irwin (Economics) & Russ Muirhead (Government)

Program Director: Henry Clark, Senior Lecturer

Postdoctoral Fellows

Trevor Latimer - Government

Daniel Putnam - Philosophy

Leadership Council

Sahil Abbi '20, Co-Chair
Gunnar P. Smith '20, Co-Chair

Gregory Mesa '22
Alexa Paladino '20

Alec Kaplan '21
Eleanor Niedermayr '20
Garrett Collins '20
Celina Tala '22
Victoria Xiao '22
Jeffrey Qiao '20
Mason Wegener '20
Brian Morrison '21
Christopher Meister '20
Evan Kelmar '20
Utsav Jalan '21
Linda Xia '22

Our Mission

Is capitalism a system of injustice and exploitation, or a system that allows for individual freedom and prosperity?  What does it mean to have a fair and just society, the equality of legal rights or equality in the distribution of resources? What system of values is most conducive to prosperity, dignity, and happiness? How do different political and economic systems differ in their ability to achieve these objectives?  

The Political Economy Project aims to explore questions such as these—at the intersection of economics, politics, and ethics—through teaching, research, and student inquiry. Such inquiry is an important component of a liberal arts education. 

 The Project is emphatically interdisciplinary: it welcomes students, faculty, and visiting speakers and scholars from all disciplines, including philosophy, history, sociology, government, and economics. Participants will share a commitment to rigorous and open-minded investigation and a respectful but critical attitude toward all views.