WESSWEB - Western European Specialists Section


WESS Schedule for 1999 Annual ALA
(New Orleans)

SATURDAY, June 26

8-9 Nominating Committee
EMCC 341
Chair: Tom Izbicki (izbicki@jhu.edu)

9:30-11 Research & Planning Committee
Hotel Intercontinental-Vieux Carre B
Improving Bibliographic and Physical Access to Western European Materials: Italy.
Chair: Jeff Garrett (jgarrett@nwu.edu)

11:30-12:30 Scandinavian Discussion Group
EMCC 342
Chair: Charles Spetland (c-spet@tc.umn.edu)

11:30-12:30 College & Medium-Size Library Discussion Group
EMCC 269
Chair: Fred Jenkins (jenkins@data.lib.udayton.edu )

2-4 Romance Languages Discussion Group
EMCC 339
Agenda: Introductions . -- Announcements. -- The Bibliotheque Nationale de France: Virtual and Actual: Dick Hacken (BYU) will describe the "Insider's tour" of the BNF he took earlier this year, and Sarah Wenzel (Boston University) will take us on a virtual tour of the BNF, via their web site. -- Elections for Chair?
Chair: Emily Horning (emily.horning@yale.edu)

4:30-5:30 Publications Committee
EMCC 215
Chair: Leena Siegelbaum (siegelba@law.harvard.edu)

SUNDAY, June 27

9:30-11 Germanists Discussion Group
EMCC 264
Chair: Reinhart Sonnenburg (reinhart.sonnenburg@dartmouth.edu.edu)
Topic: Electronic Texts Revisited

11:30-12:30 Membership Committee
EMCC 225
Chair: Gordon Anderson (Ganderson@ukans.edu)

11:30-12:30 2000 Conference Planning Committee
EMCC 346
Chair: Assunta Pisani (apisani@sulmail.stanford.edu)

2-4 Special Topics Discussion Group
EMCC 348
Chair: Beau David Case (case.42@osu.edu)
Topic: Luxembourg

4:30-5:30 Social Science/History Discussion Group
EMCC 215
Chair: Ann Snoeyenbos (Ann.Snoeyenbos@nyu.edu )

4:30-5:30 Cataloging Issues AD Hoc Committee
EMCC 216
Chair: Karl Fattig (kfattig@bowdoin.edu )

4:30-5:30 Classics, Medieval, Renaissance Discussion Group
EMCC 240
Chair: Bruce Swann ( b-swann@uiuc.edu )
Topic: Hans Deraeve of Brepols will be present to demonstrate several cd-rom products, including the recently released Thesaurus Formarum Totius Latinitatis and la Bibliotheque des Ducs de Bourgogne. He also indicated that he could discuss what Brepols is planning for online development.

7-9:30 WESS 20th Anniversary Cruise
On the Riverboat John James Audubon. Boarding at 7 (Toulouse Street Wharf).
Sign-up Information (Please sign up early.)

MONDAY, JUNE 28

9:30-12 Program & General Membership Meeting
Chateau Sonesta-Lafitte A
Topic: Western European Studies Librarianship: Looking Forward After 20 Years

TUESDAY, June 29

9:30-11 Executive Committee
EMCC 260
Chair: Stephen Lehmann (lehmann@pobox.upenn.edu)
............................
EMCC = Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
............................


Back to WESS Homepage


Last updated: June 23, 1999
Comments to: Reinhart Sonnenburg

WESS Schedule for 1999 mid-Winter ALA (Philadelphia)