Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth faculty, staff, and students

Did you or a colleague recently receive an award or honor? Tell us about it:


Tom Cormen (photos by Joseph Mehling ’69 unless otherwise noted)

Tom Cormen, professor and chair of computer science, was recently named a distinguished educator by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The honor recognizes an ACM member who, in addition to significant accomplishments in the field of computing, has demonstrated excellence in teaching, provided innovative learning experiences in the classroom, and/or authored a widely used computer science textbook. Cormen is the lead author of the second most-cited computer science publication, the textbook Introduction to Algorithms.



Schuyler “Sketch” Evans ’10 (photo by Zach Mason ’10)

Dartmouth Broadcasting's WFRD FM (99 Rock) won a merit award for Public Service Campaign of the Year at the New Hampshire Association of Broadcasters' Golden Mic Awards Ceremony on November 12. The station was recognized for its promotion of last spring’s Relay for Life, an all-night community walk benefiting the American Cancer Society. This marked Dartmouth Broadcasting’s first award for a public service campaign, as well as the first Golden Mic award for the station in over a decade. Schuyler “Sketch” Evans ’10 is the general manager of Dartmouth Broadcasting and hosts the 99 Rock afternoon show.



Vijay Govindarajan (photo courtesy of Vijay Govindarajan)

Vijay Govindarajan, the Earl C. Daum 1924 Professor of International Business at the Tuck School of Business, was recently elected a fellow of the Strategic Management Society (SMS), the largest and most prestigious association of academic scholars in management. Govindarajan gave a keynote address about innovation agendas during the annual SMS conference in Washington, D.C., on October 13. Two previously named SMS Fellows from the Tuck School, Constance Helfat, the J. Brian Quinn Professor in Technology and Strategy, and Margaret Peteraf, the Leon E. Williams Professor of Management, were featured panelists at the same meeting. Govindarajan is director of the William F. Achtmeyer Center for Global Leadership at Tuck and serves as chief innovation consultant for GE.



James Igoe

Anthropology Professor James Igoe gave the keynote speech at the Mid-America Alliance for African Studies (MAAAS) Conference at the University of Tulsa in September. MAAAS promotes scholarly research on Africa. Igoe, whose talk was entitled “Thinking About African Environments in the Context of our Current Economic and Ecological Crises,” was also interviewed by Tulsa Public Radio.



Samuel A. Rauch ’10

Samuel A. Rauch ’10 received the 2009 Student of the Year award from the Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust at a special awards dinner in Los Angeles on November 8. Rauch, a math major and German studies minor from San Antonio, Texas, interned at the museum last spring and summer. He was cited for his work with the museum’s education program and for translating “numerous Holocaust-related German documents and providing appropriate contextual information.” Additionally, administrators found Rauch’s “skills, work ethic, and commitment to the museum’s mission extraordinary.”



Benja Wurzel ’10 (courtesy of Benja Wurzel ’10)

Benja Wurzel ’10, a member of SHEBA dance troupe, reached the quarterfinals of the NBC show America's Got Talent this past summer as a member of the hip-hop group Status Quo. Wurzel also performed at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., over the summer and at the world-renowned Jacob’s Pillow festival in Becket, Mass., where he received the Professional Advancement Award in Dance. Status Quo is best known for reaching the finals during the first season of MTV’s America’s Best Dance Crew.



Kenneth Yalowitz

Amabassador (Ret.) Kenneth Yalowitz, the Norman E. McCulloch Jr. Director of the Dickey Center for International Understanding, has been invited to join the American Academy of Diplomacy. The academy is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan, organization of people who have held positions of high responsibility in crafting and implementing American foreign policy. It focuses on the pursuit of excellence in the practice of American diplomacy. Yalowitz, also an adjunct professor of government, retired from the U.S. Department of State in 2001 following 36 years as a career diplomat and member of the Senior Foreign Service. He served as the U.S. ambassador to the Republic of Belarus from 1994 to 1997 and to Georgia from 1998 to 2001.



Melanie Rutkowski, David J. Graber, Aurelie Deveau, and Shalini Ayyagari (photo by Danica Hickey, A&S Grad)

Four Dartmouth postdoctoral researchers received 2009 Dartmouth College Postdoctoral Association (DCPDA) travel awards in November. The competitive awards of $1,000 each may be applied to the expense of presenting research at professional conferences. “These awards recognize the scholarly achievements of four outstanding postdocs from diverse subject areas,” says Melanie Rutkowski, DCPDA president and a postdoctoral researcher in microbiology and immunology. Recipients are:


Ronald P. White

  • Shalini Ayyagari (music) for “Visualizing Music: A Discussion on the Role of Audio-Visuals in Ethnomusicology”; faculty mentor Theodore Levin
  • Aurelie Deveau (microbiology and immunology) for “Ras-adenylate cyclase-PKA pathway is a keystone for the activity of farnesol in C. albicans and its inhibition is responsible for a significant part of the pleiotropic effects of farnesol”; faculty mentor Deborah Hogan
  • David J. Graber (pathology) for “Synthetic triterpenoids attenuate nitric oxide synthesis in microglia and induce NADPH:quinone oxidoreductase activity in astrocytes”; faculty mentor Brent T. Harris
  • Ronald P. White (chemistry) for “Chain Fluids and Fluid Mixtures: Contrasts of Theoretical and Simulation Approaches, and Comparison with Experimental Alkane Properties”; faculty mentor Jane Lipson


Last Updated: 11/28/09