Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar

The Matchmakers

  • Save & Share:
  • Bookmark on
  • Submit to Digg!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Bookmark on Google
  • Post to MySpace
  • Share with Reddit
  • Share with StumbleUpon
  • Email & Print:
  • E-mail this
  • Print this

Trustee Al Mulley ’70, chair of the Presidential Search Committee, expressed gratitude to the many members of the community who provided input on the search process—through open forums, emails, and more. “It was your appreciation of Dartmouth’s legacy and your vision for its future that defined the type of leader we sought and guided our decisions,” he said at the March 2 announcement.

Search Committee members, from left: Jonathan Skinner, Gretchen Gerzina, Joseph Helble, President-elect Kim, Martha Beattie ’76, Joyce DeLeo, Trustee and Committee Chair Al Mulley ’70, and Stephen Mandel Jr. ’78. (Photo by Joseph Mehling ’69)

He also recognized the committee for its efforts. “The time commitment and, at times, the pace were daunting,” he said. “I stand in awe of the work these people have done this past year, with you and for you, and for the common good of Dartmouth’s future.”

Presidential Search Committee Members


  • Joyce DeLeo, professor of anesthesiology and of pharmacology and toxicology at Dartmouth Medical School
  • Sydney Finkelstein, the Steven Roth Professor of Management at the Tuck School of Business
  • Gretchen Gerzina, the Kathe Tappe Vernon Professor in Biography and chair of the Department of English
  • Joseph Helble, dean of Thayer School of Engineering
  • Jane Lipson, the Albert W. Smith Professor of Chemistry
  • Jonathan Skinner, the John Sloan Dickey Third Century Professor in the Social Sciences


  • Molly Bode ’09, president of the Student Assembly
  • Martha Beattie ’76, chair of the Alumni Council’s Alumni Liaison Committee and past president of the Alumni Council


  • Bradford Evans ’64, managing director of Morgan Stanley and a vice chairman of the firm’s Investment Banking Department
  • Jose W. Fernandez ’77, a partner in the New York office of Latham & Watkins and global co-chair of the firm’s Latin America practice
  • Pamela Joyner ’79, managing partner and founder of Avid Partners
  • Stephen Mandel Jr. ’78, managing director and portfolio manager at Lone Pine Capital
  • Albert Mulley Jr. ’70, Search Committee chair; chief of the General Medicine Division and director of the Medical Practices Evaluation Center at Massachusetts General Hospital; associate professor of medicine and of health policy at Harvard Medical School
  • Peter Robinson ’79, fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University
  • Ed Haldeman ’70, chair of the Board of Trustees and chairman, Putnam Investments, ex officio member of the Search Committee

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 3/15/09