Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar

Dartmouth Faculty Members Honored

Several Dartmouth faculty members have recently been recognized for their work in medicine, English, philosophy, economics, physics, and business.

wennbergJohn Wennberg (Photo courtesy Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice) 
gerzinaGretchen Gerzina (Photo by Joseph Mehling ’69) 
fogelinRobert Fogelin (Photo by Joseph Mehling ’69) 
Wennberg honored for lifetime achievement

John E. Wennberg, professor of community and family medicine at Dartmouth Medical School (DMS), and the Peggy Y. Thomson Chair in the Evaluative Clinical Sciences, was named by Health Affairs magazine as “the most influential health policy researcher of the past 25 years.” He also received the 2007 Ernest Amory Codman Award from the Joint Commission, the nation’s predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in health care, for his leadership in using outcomes measures to improve health-care quality and safety.

Both recent awards highlight Wennberg’s pioneering research of the past 30 years, which has focused on regional variations in medical care, outcomes of medical treatment, and shared decision-making. His work attracted congressional attention to outcomes research, and he helped shape the legislation that established the U.S. Department of Health’s Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The agency is charged with researching health-care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety.

Gerzina to hold Eastman professorship

Gretchen Holbrook Gerzina, professor of English and the Kathe Tappe Vernon Professor of Biography, will be the 68th holder of the George Eastman Professorship at the University of Oxford for the 2009-2010 academic year. The chair is awarded annually to U.S. scholars of the highest distinction, and its ranks include classicists, philosophers, lawyers, historians, economists, and 13 Nobel Laureates. Administered by the Association of American Rhodes Scholars, the chair was established by Kodak founder George Eastman in 1929.

The residential position includes a professorship at Balliol College, one of Oxford’s 39 colleges, and housing in the Eastman House. Gerzina, who is also chair of the English Department, says she looks forward to pursuing her research on the Bloomsbury group and race, Black British studies, and—on side trips to Italy and France—on Josephine Baker. Gerzina is the author of seven books, including the Norton Annotated Secret Garden, and Mr. and Mrs. Prince: How an Extraordinary 18th-Century Family Moved out of Slavery and Into Legend. She is the first member of the Dartmouth faculty to receive the award.

Fogelin receives Mellon Foundation fellowship

Dartmouth’s Sherman Fairchild Professor in the Humanities Emeritus, Robert Fogelin, was awarded an Emeritus Fellowship by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to support his ongoing work in Pyrrhonism, a radical form of ancient philosophical skepticism.

The award will allow Fogelin to travel and meet with fellow philosophers in academia. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Fogelin is the author of a dozen books and numerous articles.

o'connorGerald O'Connor (Photo courtesy Gerald O'Connor)
quintonHebe Quinton ’77, DMS ’96 (Photo courtesy Hebe Quinton) 
O’Connor, Quinton honored by Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Two Dartmouth Medical School (DMS) researchers who have advanced outcomes research and clinical practice have received national awards from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation (CFF).

Gerald O’Connor, professor of medicine and of community and family medicine, received the Richard C. Talamo Distinguished Clinical Achievement Award. The award is given to individuals “who have spent their careers researching and caring for patients with cystic fibrosis and whose contributions have had significant influence on the course of the disease.” O’Connor is also an associate dean at DMS, and associate director of the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice’s education program.

Research Associate Hebe Quinton ’77, DMS ’96, received the inaugural Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Quality Improvement Award from CFF. The award honors “individuals who have made a difference in the lives of people with cystic fibrosis by the application of improvement science.”

lusardiAnnamaria Lusardi (Photo by Joseph Mehling ’69)
violaLorenza Viola (Photo by Sarah Memmi)
greenhalghLeonard Greenhalgh (Photo courtesy Tuck School) 
Lusardi wins Fidelity prize

Annamaria Lusardi, professor of economics, was recognized by the Fidelity Research Institute for her efforts to help improve lifelong financial well-being for Americans. Lusardi was co-recipient of the institute’s 2007 Pyramid Prize award along with Olivia Mitchell of the Wharton School. Together they wrote the paper, “Baby Boomer Retirement Security: The Roles of Planning, Financial Literacy, and Housing Wealth,” which was published in the Journal of Monetary Economics in January 2007.

Fidelity awards the prize to highlight thought-leading analyses that “inspire action through practical solutions to the financial challenges facing individuals, institutions, and governments.” The prize includes $25,000, which Lusardi says she plans to save for retirement.

Viola will chair American Physical Society Topical Group

Lorenza Viola, associate professor of physics, has been appointed chair of the Topical Group on Quantum Information (TGQI) of the American Physical Society (APS), beginning January 2008. The TGQI’s mission is the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge concerning fundamental quantum information physics and its applications. As chair, Viola will lead the executive committee and will continue to coordinate the activities of the TGQI, which include overseeing the organization of the annual March meeting and the appointment of new fellows of the APS.

Viola is director of Dartmouth’s Quantum Information Science Initiative. She is also co-author of the paper, “The Structure of Preserved Information in Quantum Processes,” forthcoming in the journal Physical Review Letters. Her research seeks to understand, model, and control physical systems and processes at the quantum scale.

Commerce Department honors Greenhalgh

Tuck School of Business Professor Leonard Greenhalgh has received the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) lifetime achievement award for his continued work with America’s minority business owners.

“I am really proud of Tuck for having taken this stance and making an investment in the future of minorities,” says Greenhalgh, director of programs for minority- and women-owned business enterprises at Tuck. “Personally, it’s enjoyable being part of something that makes a difference on a national scale.

“Minorities will become the majority by mid-century, and if they are not economically self-sufficient, the U.S. economy suffers,” says Greenhalgh.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08