Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth faculty, staff, and students

Susan Ackerman, professor and chair of religion and professor of women's and gender studies, received a 2006 Lambda Literary Award for the best book in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) studies for her book, When Heroes Love: The Ambiguity of Eros in the Stories of Gilgamesh and David (Columbia University Press, 2005). The Lambda Literary Foundation is the country's leading organization for LGBT literature. Ackerman's interests include the representation of women in the Bible and the roles of women in the religion of ancient Israel and the religions of Israel's neighbors. She is the author of three books and teaches undergraduate courses including, Women in the Bible, Patterns of Religious Experience, and Religion of Israel: The Hebrew Bible (Old Testament).

George J. Demko, professor of geography emeritus and former director of the Rockefeller Center, was recently appointed to the Editorial Panel of the University of Wales Press for the publishing house's book series on European crime fiction. Demko is an expert in the genre, specifically the geography of mystery novels. His undergraduate seminar, Landscapes of Murder: The Geography of Mystery Fiction, focused on the role that place plays in the mystery novel. Though retired from teaching, Demko currently gives seminars on crime fiction to Dartmouth alumni clubs across the United States. He is the author of numerous books, including Reordering the World: Geopolitical perspectives on the 21st Century (1999) and Population Under Duress: The Geodemography of Post-Soviet Russia (1999), as well as many articles on international crime fiction.

William A. Nelson, associate professor of psychiatry and associate professor of community and family medicine at Dartmouth Medical School (DMS), was awarded an honorary doctorate of humane letters from Elmhurst College (Elmhurst, Ill.) on May 28. The degree recognized Nelson's teaching, scholarship and research in the field of health care ethics. Nelson is the former chief of the Ethics Education Service in the National Center for Ethics in Health Care. In 2004, the Veterans Health Administration—where Nelson worked for 28 years—established the annual William A. Nelson Award for Excellence in Health Care Ethics, a national competitive award in recognition of his efforts fostering clinical and organizational ethical practices. Nelson is also the director of Community and Family Medicine's Rural Ethics Initiatives at DMS.

James N. Weinstein, professor and chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Dartmouth Medical School and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, has been named the recipient of the 2006 Wiltse Lifetime Achievement Award by the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine. Weinstein is only the 7th person to receive this prestigious international honor, which comes with a cash award of $50,000. Weinstein is currently leading the 10-year, $21 million SPORT (Spine Patient Outcomes Research Trial) clinical trial, which is examining the relative efficacy of surgical versus non-surgical treatment for the three most commonly diagnosed lumbar spine conditions. He is also a director of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, editor-in-chief of Spine, and the author of more than 250 publications.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08