Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar

Students and Alumni Win National Honors

Zachary Kaufman '08
Zachary Kaufman '08
Samuel Kohn '09
Samuel Kohn '09
Laura Myers '08
Laura Myers '08
Meghan Feely '08
Meghan Feely '08
Kristen Lurie '08
Kristen Lurie '08
Joseph Malchow '08
Joseph Malchow '08

Six undergraduates and nineteen recent alumni have received national recognition for outstanding achievements in scholarship. From stem cell research and public policy to blogging and building a better heart pump, their interests are as broad as the Dartmouth curriculum itself.

Truman Scholarship
Zachary Kaufman '08 is one of 65 Truman Scholars for 2007. The prestigious scholarship provides juniors bound for graduate school with $30,000 as well as priority in admissions to top graduate institutions, supplemental financial aid, and internship opportunities within the federal government.

Kaufman plans to obtain a master's degree in public health with a focus on international health, and to enter the public health arena in the Caribbean or Latin America, dealing with government and international agencies but also working directly with people and communities. He is co-founder of Dartmouth Ends Hunger, a Tucker Foundation-sponsored group; founder and director of Lose The Shoes, a barefoot charity soccer tournament started at Dartmouth and now in action on 10 college campuses around the country; and has worked for Grassroots Soccer, an HIV/AIDS prevention program founded by Thomas Clark '92.

Each year, Truman Scholars are selected from among hundreds of candidates nominated by colleges and universities across the nation.

Morris K. Udall Scholarship
Samuel Kohn '09 is one of only 80 national winners of a 2007 Morris K. Udall scholarship. A member of the Crow Tribe from Montana, Kohn is pursuing an interest in tribal policy and education that began when he was in high school.

In a First-Year Summer Research Project, he examined the "Indian Education for All" act in Montana, and he plans to pursue a Presidential Scholarship and thesis work in tribal education. The Udall Scholarships celebrate the late Congressman's legacy of public service, his love for the environment, and his advocacy for Native Americans and Alaska Natives.

Goldwater Scholarships
Laura Myers, Meghan Feely, and Kristen Lurie, all members of the Class of 2008, have been recognized by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence Program. Myers is a 2007 Goldwater Scholar, and Feely and Lurie received honorable mentions. Congress established the Goldwater Foundation in 1986 to honor the late Barry M. Goldwater, U.S. Senator from Arizona from 1952 through 1987, by encouraging outstanding students pursuing careers in engineering, mathematics, and science.

Myers started the Dartmouth chapter of the Student Society for Stem Cell Research, organized a panel discussion on the subject last year, and is currently working as a Presidential Scholar with Nancy Speck, the James J. Carroll Professor in Oncology at the Norris Cotton Cancer Center.

Feely has focused her studies on an immunological approach to oncology and is also a Presidential Scholar. She co-chairs Dartmouth's Women in Science Project, where she encourages first-year women to pursue their aspirations in medicine and engineering.

Lurie is co-president of the Dartmouth Society of Women Engineers. She held an internship at The Cleveland Clinic during her first year summer, where she helped design bearings to mediate axial thrusts in heart pumps.

Bartley Internship
The Wall Street Journal has named Joseph Malchow '08 a 2007 Bartley Fellow. The Journal awards only seven of the prestigious fellowships each year, named in honor of the paper's late editor, Robert Bartley.

Malchow writes for the National Review Online. He developed and maintains Joe's Dartblog, a Web discussion forum that has caught the eyes of some of the nation's most prominent journalists. During his fellowship, he will work in the editorial department of the Journal, as well as on the Web site of the Far Eastern Economic Review.

Malchow's interest in blogging began with Old and New Media, an English class he took at Dartmouth as a freshman. For his final project, he founded, which now reaches an audience of over 1,000 daily readers.

The Bartley fellows were selected from more than 50 applicants for their journalism potential and their demonstration of views consistent with Bartley's "belief in economic and political liberty," the Journal's editorial page editor, Paul Gigot '77, says.

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships
The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently awarded funding to nine Dartmouth alumni through its Graduate Research Fellowship Program. The program provides three years of support for study that will lead to a research-based master's or doctoral degree.

Joseph Brown '00 is in a Ph.D. program in mechanical engineering at the University of Colorado in Boulder. His focus is on nanoscale materials processing.

Cayelan Carey '06 is beginning a Ph.D. program in ecology and evolutionary biology at Cornell University. Her research examines toxic cyanobacteria, a type of algae associated with outbreaks in low-nutrient lakes in the northeastern United States, including New Hampshire and Maine.

Clare Gupta '04 is beginning a Ph.D. program in environmental science, policy, and management at UC Berkeley. She is investigating natural resource management and wildlife conservation policy in southern Africa.

Margaret Mills '01 is embarking on a Ph.D. program in molecular and cellular biology at the University of Washington. Her work focuses on development and evolution, studying pigment patterns in zebra fish (Danio rerio) and related species, to identify the genetic and cellular bases for the appearance of the adults of these species.

Neha Narula '03 will be starting a Ph.D. program in computer science at MIT next fall, where she will study distributed systems and game theory.

Elizabeth Norton '05 is in an M.A./Ph.D. program in child development at Tufts University, where her work focuses on the behavioral and neurological characteristics of dyslexia—specifically, the use of language and reading assessments as well as fMRI brain scanning to examine reading intervention programs.

Nicholas Rule '04 is in a Ph.D. program in psychology at Tufts University, focusing on social perception and social neuroscience, particularly the way we form first impressions.

Sara Thiebaud '06 is beginning a Ph.D. program in systems biology at Harvard. She looks at how human cells repair DNA damage, using time-lapse fluorescence microscopy to understand how DNA repair is influenced by cell growth, replication, and division. She hopes to use this and other projects to gain insight into the regulation of human cancers.

Sharon Yoon '04 is in a Ph.D. program in sociology at Princeton University, where she focuses on culture, race and social stratification, and East Asian societies, with a specific interest in how individuals who are able to physically blend in perceive their racial identity.

Ten recent graduates received honorable mentions from the NSF: Bart Butler '06, in particle physics; Gretchen Gehrke '05, in geochemistry; Sarena Goodman '05, in economics; Marianne Karplus '04, in geophysics; Emma Lubin '06, in genetics; Evelyn Mervine '06, in marine geology and geophysics; Gabrielle Miller-Messner '01, in evolutionary biology; Hannah Murnen '06, in chemical engineering; Adam Sepulveda '02, in ecology; and Jeremy Tran '05, in evolutionary biology.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08