Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar

And the award goes to...

Director Sidney Lumet to be honored by Dartmouth Film Society
Director Sidney Lumet with Al Pacino
Director Sidney Lumet (right), with Al Pacino, receiving an Honorary Academy Award at the 2005 Oscars. (photo by PhotoFest)

Usually found behind the camera, acclaimed director Sidney Lumet will take center stage at Dartmouth on Wednesday, Nov. 9 to accept his Dartmouth Film Award from the Dartmouth Film Society (DFS) and take part in an onstage discussion of his life's work. The event will be held in the Spaulding Auditorium in the Hopkins Center for the Arts at 7 p.m.

Lumet, the director of such films as Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, The Verdict, 12 Angry Men and Network, was recently given an Honorary Academy Award for his body of work and contributions to the film industry. With 40 films to his credit, Lumet has directed 17 Oscar-winning or nominated performances, earning four nominations of his own as Best Director. His tale of life behind the camera, Making Movies (1996), continues to be taught in film classes around the country. Lumet remains active as a filmmaker, having just finished Find Me Guilty this year.

Bill Pence, Director of Film for the Hopkins Center, will include a compilation of film clips and an onstage discussion with Lumet moderated by Chris Robinson '86, former DFS Director and current Ph.D. candidate in film theory. Hopkins Center Film Manager Sydney Stowe, who helped organize the event, said, "The tribute to Sidney Lumet is the centerpiece of the Dartmouth Film Society's fall series on America in the movies. Lumet is the quintessential American director; from 12 Angry Men to Network to The Verdict, his films speak to our national sense of justice and social conscience."

Bill Pence, Brendon Bouzard '06 and Sydney Stowe
Left to right: Bill Pence, Director of Film for the Hopkins Center, Brendon Bouzard '06, Director of the Dartmouth Film Society, and Sydney Stowe, Film Manager for the Hopkins Center. (photo by Joseph Mehling '69)

The Dartmouth Film Award, established in 1979, honors outstanding contributors to film and filmmaking. Previous winners have included Johnny Depp, Robert Redford, Liv Ullman, Ken Burns, Stephen Frears, Glenn Close, Peter Greenaway and Meryl Streep.

Tickets are $7 for the general public, $5 for Dartmouth students, faculty and staff, or free with a DFS pass. Individual tickets can be purchased in advance from the Hopkins Center Box Office by calling 646-2422. For more information, call the Hop Film Office at 646-2576 or visit their website.


Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08