Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth faculty, staff and students

Abigail Baird, Assistant Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences and Director of the Laboratory for Adolescent Studies, was appointed Secretary of the American Psychological Society (APS) in August. Baird specializes in the application of neuroimaging techniques to the study of the developing brain, with a particular focus on adolescence. At the APS, Baird will focus on advancing the society's key goals of enhancing interdisciplinary communication within psychological and allied fields and improving how psychology as a field communicates with the public. At Dartmouth, she is currently examining structural and physiological changes in the limbic system of adolescents to better understand how these changes relate to the integration of cognition and emotion.

Matthew J. Slaughter, Associate Professor of Business Administration at the Tuck school, was nominated by President George W. Bush to become a member of the Council of Economic Advisers (CEA). Located within the Executive Office of the President, the CEA provides the President with objective economic analysis and advice on the development and implementation of a wide range of domestic and international economic policy issues. The CEA includes three members who are appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate. Slaughter's area of expertise is the economics and politics of globalization. At Tuck, he teaches "Global Economics for Managers" and "Countries and Companies in the International Economy."

Deborah A. Stone, Research Professor of Government and Public Policy, is a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for 2005-06. A social policy and healthcare specialist, Stone will lecture on topics including writing, altruism, equality, health insurance and caregiving with faculty and students at nine institutions. Stone is among 13 scholars selected to visit universities and colleges with Phi Beta Kappa chapters. The Visiting Scholar Program aims to enrich the intellectual atmosphere at participating institutions and to enable undergraduates to interact with leading scholars. In addition to scholarly articles, Stone also contributes to political journals such as The Nation and The American Prospect.

Harold Swartz, Professor of Radiology and of Community and Family Medicine and of Physiology at DMS, received the International Zavoisky Award at Kazan State University in Russia's Republic of Tatarstan in September. The award recognizes outstanding applications of developments of electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR). Swartz was chosen for his contributions to the development of biological applications of EPR, particularly in vivo EPR and the first developments of clinical applications. Also in September, Swartz was inducted as a fellow of the International EPR Society and honored with the Society's Founder's Medal, given in recognition of his pivotal role in establishing the Society and his continuing contributions to its development and improvement.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08