Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth faculty, staff and students

George Cybenko, Dorothy and Walter Gramm Professor of Engineering at Thayer School of Engineering, has been appointed as a representative of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society  to  the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors. The CRA includes more than 200 U.S. and Canadian academic departments in computer science, computer engineering and related fields, as well as member organizations from industry and government. Cybenko serves on the Board of Governors of the IEEE Computer Society, an industry association of over 90,000 members. He has edited several mathematics, computer and information theory publications and is currently editor-in-chief of the IEEE publication Security and Privacy. Cybenko's research interests are in the areas of information assurance and process detection.

Larry Polansky, Jacob Strauss 1922 Professor of Music, recently received the inaugural Henry Cowell Award. The Cowell Award recognizes composers who exemplify a spirit of innovation and experimentalism in their work, just as the influential Cowell (1897-1965) did during his lifetime. Polansky's musical pedigree includes work as a composer, theorist, performer, software designer, teacher, writer, editor and publisher. "Cowell is such an icon of 20th Century music," Polansky said. "It's a privilege to have my work tied into his legacy." Polansky is co-director of the College's Bregman Electro-Acoustic Music Studio. He teaches electro-acoustic music in the graduate program, as well as undergraduate courses in computer music, theory and composition. He is a co-author of the widely-used computer music language HMSL and co-founder and co-director of Frog Peak Music (A Composers' Collective), an organization dedicated to publishing speculative theory and experimental music.

Adina Roskies, Assistant Professor of Philosophy, won four medals in women's open division rowing events at the 17th Maccabiah Games, held July 10-21 in Israel.  Roskies won gold medals in Double Sculls and Straight Four, a silver in Quadruple Sculls and a bronze in Single Scull. Supported by teammate Samantha Chauveau, Roskies took the Double Sculls gold with a time of 8:34,98. The Maccabiah Games are an Olympic-style competition for Jewish athletes held every four years in Israel. The games are sponsored by Maccabi World Union, a global Jewish organization that boasts 400,000 members from over 50 countries. At Dartmouth, Roskies teaches courses in reason and argument and philosophy of science. She holds doctoral degrees in both philosophy and neuroscience and cognitive science and is a member of the McDonnell Project in Neurophilosophy, a group which works to integrate philosophical thought with neurobiological research.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08