Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth faculty, staff and students

Lee Lynd, Professor of Engineering at Thayer School and Adjunct Professor of Biological Sciences, was awarded the Charles D. Scott Award at the 27th Symposium on Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals on May 1 in Denver, Co. The award is presented annually to recognize those who have distinguished themselves through their sustained contributions to the area of biotechnology for fuels and chemicals. Lynd, who holds M.S. and D.E. degrees from Thayer School, leads a Dartmouth research group in biochemical engineering and applied biology relevant to processing cellulosic biomass. He is a recipient of the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award and a two-time recipient of the Charles A. Lindbergh Award for his efforts to promote balance between technological progress and preservation of the natural and human environments. From 1994-1995, Lynd served on an Advisory Committee to the Clinton Administration on Reducing Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Personal Vehicles. He has twice testified before the U.S. Senate and currently co-leads a multi-institutional project titled "The Role of Biomass in America's Energy Future."

Lee Stemkoski, mathematics; James Kellner, biology; and Krum Chuchev, chemistry were winners of this year's Filene Graduate Student Teaching Award. Each of these graduate students demonstrated outstanding dedication and commitment to teaching. They showed innovation and creativity in the classroom, were dedicated to their teaching and served as mentors and role models for undergraduates and other graduate students. Each of the award winners will be given a cash prize of $1,000.

Nathan Ryan in mathematics and Matthew Wargo in biological sciences won 2005 Hannah Croasdale Graduate Scholar Awards. The Awards, which include a $1,000 cash prize, are conferred on students who demonstrate intellectual curiosity, dedication and commitment to the pursuit of new knowledge and to teaching, as well as a sense of social responsibility to the community of scholars for which the award was designed. In their letters of nomination, Ryan and Wargo were singled out for exceeding the expectations held of graduate researchers and teachers and for displaying an unparalleled commitment to their work and departments.

Both are Ph.D. candidates. Ryan worked with Professor of Mathematics Tom Shemanske on a thesis titled, "Computing the Satake parameters of Siegel modular forms." Wargo worked with Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences Elizabeth Smith to complete his thesis titled, "Structural, functional, and biochemical approaches to understanding the roles of the C1 microtubule of the flagellar central apparatus." Wargo and Ryan also received Filene Graduate Student Teaching Awards in 2003 and 2004, respectively.

Bonnie Holbrook, Career Services Administrative/Program Assistant, was inducted into the Iron Dog Brigade on June 3 at the International Snowmobile Congress in Salt Lake City, Utah. Her husband, James Holbrook, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning Mechanic at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in White River Junction, Vt., was also inducted. The Iron Dog Brigade is an international honorary society of leaders in the snowmobile industry. Membership is one of the highest honors in the sport. Holbrook, who lives in Thetford, Vt., has been active in snowmobiling for almost 20 years and holds positions in a number of organizations. She is Recording Secretary of the Vermont Association of Snow Travelers (VAST), a member of the VAST Safety and Responsible Riding Committee and a Vermont State Police Certified Snowmobile Safety Instructor. A board member of the Vermont Traditions Coalition, Holbrook works with legislators and law enforcement officials to keep Vermont's trails open and safe. She has been an employee of the College since 1996.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08