Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth faculty, staff and students

Megan Johnson, assistant director of coed, fraternity, sorority, undergraduate and senior society administration, was awarded the Gayle Webb New Professional Award at the Association of Fraternity Advisors (AFA) Annual Meeting in December. Johnson is the third woman to be honored with the award, now in its fifteenth year, which honors outstanding contributions to the field of campus advising by an AFA member during his or her first two years of professional employment. A member of Alpha Sigma Alpha, Johnson has facilitated community discussions to strengthen and improve the Greek system at Dartmouth.

James Platt, director of the Dartmouth Faculty and Employee Assistance Program and instructor in psychiatry, has been elected president-elect of the International Association of Employee Assistance Professionals in Education. The goals of the organization are to provide opportunities for Employee Assistance Professionals (EAPs) in educational settings to network, share information, and discuss current EAP programming issues. The organization also provides consultation to individuals developing EAPs in educational institutions. Platt joined the organizations' board of directors January 1 and will assume the presidency on January 1, 2007.

Jonathan M. Ross, the Almy Clinical Scholar and associate chair for education at Dartmouth Medical School, and G. Ryan Berger, a chief medical resident at Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center (DHMC), received the Department of Medicine Chairman's Award for Excellence in Teaching on December 10. Ross and Berger, the first recipients of the award, were selected from 133 faculty members nominated by their peers and by students. The Chairman's Award is presented to one faculty member and one resident and will be awarded annually. Ross, also an associate professor of medicine and of community and family medicine, was selected for his many years of dedication to teaching and his service as a caring mentor to his students. Berger, a chief medical resident at DHMC, was selected for his enthusiasm and excellence of his teaching sessions.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08