Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for the Dartmouth faculty, staff and students


Michael S. Gazzaniga, David T. McLaughlin Distinguished University Professor and Director of the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience, was elected President of the American Psychological Society, which works to advance a science-first approach to psychology. Gazzaniga's work in mind-brain relationships has shaped understanding of human intellectual ability in a biological context. His election was announced in August. As a California Institute of Technology graduate student, he was involved in the study of the "split-brain" phenomenon, which revealed that the human brain is divided into two hemispheres, each with its own specialization and area of control over the body. He has continued this work during his academic career, and he is regarded as the founder of the field of cognitive neuroscience. He graduated from Dartmouth in 1961.


Paul McKie DMS '06 received one of 16 fellowships from the Stanley J. Sarnoff Endowment for Cardiovascular Science, Inc. to conduct laboratory research full time during the 2004-05 academic year at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. Mckie will work in a cardiorenal laboratory with John Burnett, investigating biomarker molecules that may help doctors predict and diagnose heart failure. At Dartmouth he is paired with Alan Kono, Assistant Professor of Medicine (cardiology) and a member of the Sarnoff Endowment's Scientific Board, who will oversee McKie's progress and advise him as he develops his career.

William A. Nelson, Associate Professor of Psychiatry and of Community and Family Medicine, was recognized and honored by the Veterans Health Administration (VHA), when it created the   William A. Nelson Award for Excellence in Health Care Ethics in June. Nelson worked for nearly 30 years and was Chief of the Ethics Education Service, addressing clinical, organizational, and research ethics issues at the National Center for Ethics in Health Care, which serves as the primary ethics resource to the VHA. The award will be given annually to an employee of the VHA who demonstrates long-term commitment to ethics in health care practice.  Nelson is project director of the Rural Ethics Initiatives at Dartmouth Medical School, which is supported by the Veterans Rural Health Initiative.

Michael Whitfield, Assistant Professor of Genetics, received a grant from the V Foundation for Cancer Research to fund his study of the "Genome-wide Programs of Cell Growth and Division" in July, which will attempt to further characterize all the genes in the human genome that are regulated during the cell-division cycle. The study will focus on identifying  those genes that expressed differently between cancer and normal cells. The foundation also named Whitfield a V Scholar. The V Foundation is named after the late Jim Valvano, basketball coach, author, sports commentator, cancer patient and cancer-research advocate.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08