Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar

Robinson, Zywicki elected alumni trustees

The Dartmouth College Board of Trustees elected Peter Robinson '79, a Fellow at Stanford University's Hoover Institution, and Todd J. Zywicki '88, a Professor of Law and Senior Research Fellow at George Mason University, as alumni trustees, following a vote by Dartmouth's alumni nominating them from a list of six candidates. Robinson and Zywicki will join the board on June 12, immediately following commencement ceremonies in Hanover.

Peter Robinson
Peter Robinson '79
Todd Zywicki
Todd J. Zywicki '88

Board of Trustees Chair William H. Neukom '64 welcomed the two trustees-elect to the board, noting that Dartmouth's alumni nominated the two "from a very strong list of candidates. The board greatly values the range of perspectives and experiences that all of our trustees bring to our midst to inform our deliberations. We will be pleased to have them working as trustees to preserve and strengthen Dartmouth's prominence in higher education."

Dartmouth President James Wright said, "Mr. Robinson and Mr. Zywicki both have a deep affection for Dartmouth, and I look forward to working with them as fellow members of the Board of Trustees in continuing to strengthen the College."

Other candidates for the alumni trustee positions were Sheila C. Cheston '80, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of BAE Systems North America; Gregg L. Engles '79, Chairman and CEO of Dean Foods Company; Richard W. Lewis '84, Chief Executive of Curzon Global Partners and Senior Managing Director of IXIS AEW Europe, Curzon's parent company; and Curtis R. Welling '71, Tu '77, President and CEO of AmeriCares, a non-profit disaster relief and humanitarian aid organization.

"I am personally very grateful to all six of these distinguished candidates for their desire to serve Dartmouth, and to all the alumni who voted in the election," President Wright said. "Alumni interest in and engagement with the institution are critical to Dartmouth's ability to offer the best educational experience in the country."

Robinson said, "Dartmouth changed my life, forming my intellect, shaping my character, exposing me to the finest teachers I've ever encountered and giving me friends whose companionship I still cherish. I'm profoundly honored to have this opportunity to give something back to the College that gave so much to me. I look forward to working with Chairman of the Board Bill Neukom, with the other members of the board, and with President Wright-and above all to representing my fellow alumni."

Zywicki said, "I am honored and humbled by the alumni vote for me to serve on the Board of Trustees. Dartmouth provided the formative experience of my adult life and launched me on the path that eventually culminated in becoming a professor myself. I want to thank all of the alumni who petitioned to put my name on the ballot and have trusted me with this charge to serve on the board. I look forward to working with my fellow board members, Chairman Neukom, and President Wright to help steer Dartmouth's future. Most of all, I look forward to working with Dartmouth's students, faculty, parents and alumni and to seek their guidance and ideas on improving Dartmouth."

"I am personally very grateful to all six of these distinguished candidates for their desire to serve Dartmouth, and to all the alumni who voted in the election."

- President James Wright

A total of 15,334 individuals, some 24.3 percent of Dartmouth's total alumni body, cast a total of 35,107 votes under the multiple-voting procedure of the nomination process. Robinson received 7,376 votes, and Zywicki received 6,844. The nomination process was managed by the Association of Alumni balloting committee, which certified the results and communicated them to the Board of Trustees.

An author, television host and former White House speechwriter, Robinson is a Fellow at the Hoover Institution, the public policy research center at Stanford University. He served from 1982-83 as chief speechwriter to Vice President George H.W. Bush. In 1983 he joined the President's staff, serving almost five years as speechwriter and special assistant to President Ronald Reagan, an experience he recounts in his 2003 book How Ronald Reagan Changed My Life. Robinson joined the Hoover Institution in 1993 and now hosts the PBS public affairs television program "Uncommon Knowledge," edits a quarterly journal, The Hoover Digest, and provides commentary for media such as National Public Radio and Fox News. In addition to his book about President Reagan, Robinson has published a study of the Republican Party, It's My Party, and a book about business school, Snapshots From Hell: The Making of an MBA.

Zywicki is a Professor of Law at George Mason University School of Law and Senior Research Fellow of the James Buchanan Center Program on Philosophy, Politics and Economics. In 2002 he was voted "Professor of the Year" by the George Mason Law School student body. In 2003-04 he served as director of the Office of Policy Planning at the United States Federal Trade Commission. Zywicki has also taught at Georgetown Law Center, Boston College Law School and Mississippi College School of Law and is a fellow of the International Centre for Economic Research in Turin, Italy. Prior to becoming a professor, Zywicki clerked for Jerry E. Smith of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and practiced law with Alston & Bird in Atlanta.

One of the two new trustees succeeds Jonathan Newcomb '68, who steps down in June after 10 years on the board. The other is a position being added under an expansion plan adopted in Nov. 2003 to increase the size of the board from 16 to 22. Three of the new seats are charter trustees appointed by the board and three are alumni trustees nominated by the alumni body and elected by the board. No firm timetable has been set for the completion of the expansion.

The Dartmouth Board of Trustees was established in the College's original charter from King George III of Great Britain in 1769. With the appointments of Robinson and Zywicki, the board consists of 18 members, including eight alumni trustees, eight charter trustees, the Governor of New Hampshire (in an ex officio capacity) and the President of the College.


Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08