Skip to main content

Vox of Dartmouth, the College's newspaper for faculty and staff, ceased publication in February 2010. For current Dartmouth news and events, see:

· Dartmouth Now
· Periodicals
· Events Calendar


Recognition for Dartmouth Faculty, staff and students


Lisa A. Mistler, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, was named the 2004 Adult Psychiatrist of the Year by the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI) New Hampshire at its annual meeting in June. NAMI New Hampshire is a statewide advocacy organization working for a high-quality mental health system, and it annually recognizes exceptional members of its community. She received the recognition for her dedication to working with severely mentally ill people at the New Hampshire Hospital in Concord.

Professor of Family and Community Medicine Hilary A. Llewellyn-Thomas and her colleague Annette M. O'Connor, a visitor in the department, were joint recipients of the John M. Eisenberg Award for Exemplary Leadership in the Practical Application of Medical Decision Making Research from the Society for Medical Decision Making. The award was presented at the Society's October annual meeting in Atlanta, Ga. Llewellyn-Thomas studies how patients make decisions in "close-call" medical situations, and teaches on the subject to new investigators in the field. O'Connor's related research involves the factors that influence decisions people make about their healthcare.

Questions or comments about this article? We welcome your feedback.

Last Updated: 12/17/08