Skip to main content


The prizes below are coordinated by the Undergraduate Deans Office on behalf of Student Affairs and the Dean of the College.

Awarded to a Member of the Junior Class

The Ranny B. Cardozo Prize

  • Awarded each year to "the outstanding member of the Junior class who most exemplifies Ranny B. Cardozo's academic enthusiasm, genuine concern for fellow classmates, and dynamic participation in campus and community activities."
    • A committee of students in the Senior class, chaired by the previous year's Cardozo prize recipient, recommends a recipient to the Dean of the College.
    • What an honor to be truly selected by fellow students!
    • Nominations are solicited from faculty and administrators as well as members of the Senior class.
    • The Ranny B. Cardozo Prize was established by classmates, parents and friends of Ranny Cardozo '78, who died in October of 1976. A member of Psi Upsilon, the Dartmouth Ski Patrol, the Sailing team, and The Dartmouth, he successfully blended his academic responsibilities with campus activities. Equally important to Ranny, however, were his friendships. Those who knew Ranny remember him for his sensitivity, tolerance, and outgoing nature.
    • See a list of recipients from 2010-2016!

Senior Prizes Awarded on Class Day

The Hannah T. Croasdale Award

  • Awarded each year to the Senior, either man or woman, who has made the most significant contribution to the quality of life for women at Dartmouth College.
    • This award is give in honor of the late Professor Hannah Croasdale who, for more than forty years, was a member of the Biology department at Dartmouth College.
    • Recipients' names are engraved on a silver bowl on display in Collis Center.
    • See a list of recipients from 2010-2016!

The Grace and James S. Parkes 1920 Prize

  • Awarded annually to a graduating Senior who has a demonstrated record of concern for others and exemplifies the personal qualities of kindness, good fellowship, and respect.

The Mina H. Warren Scholarship Prize

  • Presented annually to that member of the graduating class, four years in attendance at Dartmouth College, who ranks highest in scholarship.

The Barrett All-Round Achievement Cup

  • As its name implies, the Barrett All-Round Achievement Cup is awarded annually to that man in the Senior Class who shows the greatest promise of becoming a factor in the outside world through strength of character and qualities of leadership, record of scholarship and broad achievement, and influence among his fellows.

The Phillip D. McInnis '36 Award

  • Awarded annually to that woman in the Senior Class who contributed most significantly to the College through her depth of integrity and character, capacity for leadership, academic achievement, and commitment to the life of the community.
    • Recipients' names are engraved on a trophy on display in Collis Center.
    • Established in 1977 in honor of Philip McInnis '36 who was an “administrative officer and was especially helpful in programs supporting women’s activities.”
    • See a list of recipients from 2010-2016!

Last Updated: 1/6/17