Skip to main content

Undergraduate Advising and Research
Parker House, HB 6201
Hanover, NH
Phone:  603.646.3690
Fax:  603.646.8190
Home >  Symposium

Christopher G. Reed Science Competition

The Christopher G. Reed Science Competition is sponsored by the Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society. The competition, named in memory of the late Professor of Biology and Sigma Xi chapter officer Christopher Reed, is open to all senior honors thesis students majoring in science, math and engineering who present a poster at the annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium.

The Competition is judged on the day of the symposium by a panel of Sigma Xi members. The judges' evaluations are based on the quality and quantity of research and the effectiveness of the student's presentation. The winners of the competition are announced at the start of the keynote address. The award-winning posters from the competition will be framed and put on display for the year in Kresge Physical Sciences Library student science research exhibit. The winners also receive cash awards. All seniors who participate in this competition and complete their thesis will be nominated for Associate Membership in Sigma Xi.

Information for Competition Participants

  • Eligibility:  senior honors thesis students majoring in science (including neuroscience), math and engineering who present posters on their honors thesis research at the Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium.
  • Registration: students who are interested in participating in the competition must indicate their interest on the online poster registration form.
  • Presentations to the judges: these will be scheduled in the afternoon prior to the symposium keynote address (generally between 12pm and 3pm). Each student will be given five minutes to summarize his/her poster and answer questions posed by the judges.
  • Logistics: bring your poster to Life Sciences Center at least one-half hour prior to your presentation time (which will be sent to you via email). Check in on the first floor to find out your poster location and pick up your nametag.
  • Poster session: students participating in the competition are also expected to participate in the symposium poster session. This is an excellent opportunity to show others what you have accomplished this year, and you can include this event as a presentation on your resume.

** If you have questions, contact Professor Dean Wilcox, President of the Dartmouth Chapter of Sigma Xi, or Kathy Weaver, Symposium Coordinator.

2015 Competition Winners

  • 1st prize - Nina Maksimova, Advisor: Robert Caldwell, Physics
    • "The Left Hand of Creation: Chiral Gravitational Wave Production in Gauge-flation"
  • 2nd prize - Vivek ‘Sean’ Gupta, Advisor: Hermes Yeh, DHMC/Geisel
    • Bumetanide Mitigates Ethanol's Effects on Interneuron Migration"
  • 2nd prize - Ajay Kannan, Advisor: Devin Balkom, Computer Science
    • "Cell Representations of the Configuration Space for Planning Optimal Paths"
  • 3rd prize - Eliana Eunhee Kim, Advisor: Gordon Gribble & Evans Onyango,, Chemistry
    • "Synthesis of 3-Alkyl-2-Hydroxy-1,4-Naphthoquinone Derivatives: A Series of Potential Antimalarials"
  • 3rd prize - Aylin Y. Woodward, Advisor: Nate Dominy & William Harcourt-Smith, Anthropology
    • "New Methods to Infer Medial Longitudinal Column Morphology in the Hominin Foot"

**Kresge Library video interviews with 2015 winners


Last Updated: 9/16/15