Learn About Us

Current Lab Members

Niles Donegan lab photo

Niles Donegan


B.A., Biochemistry, Mol. and Cell Biol., 1995, Cornell University

Ph.D. 2007 Dartmouth Medical School


Post-Doc, 2007-Present, Dartmouth Medical School

Current Research:

-Understanding toxin-antitoxin systems as elements of adaptive stress response in Staphylococcus aureus

-Uncovering the mechanisms of proteolytic degradation in Staphylococcus aureus and the signal motifs involved.

-Examination of the intracellular localization of major virulence gene regulators of Staphylococcus aureus at the nanometer level.

Contact: Niles.Donegan [at] dartmouth [dot] edu

Ana Catalina Posada lab photo

Ana Catalina Posada


B.S. Biology, 2007, MIT

Ph.D. candidate, 2007-present, Dartmouth Medical School


Brown Scholar 2004-2007 HHMI-funded research with Prof. Tony Sinskey

GAAN Fellow 2007 -2008

Molecular Pathogenesis Training Grant Recipient 2009-2010

Current Research:

Determining genetic mechanisms involved in methicillin-resistance outside the canonical mecA/blaZ pathways.

Contact: Ana.Posada [at] dartmouth [dot] edu

Dhanalakshmi Nair lab photo

Dhanalakshmi Nair


B.Sc. Microbiology & Biochemistry, 1995-1997, Bombay University, India

M.Sc. Microbiology, 1997-1999, Bombay University, India

Ph.D. Biochemistry with Dr. Lawrence C. Myers, 2000-2006, Dartmouth Medical School

Post-Doc Fellow, Biology with Dr. Amy Gladfelter, 2006-2009, Dartmouth College HHMI

Post-Doc, 2009-present, Dartmouth College

Current Research:

-Genetic and biochemical basis of resistance mechanisms between Hospital Acquired (HA) and Community Acquired (HA) Methicillin resistant S. aureus (MRSA)

Kimberly A. Spotts lab photo

Kimberly A. Spotts


B.Sc., 2001-2006, Arizona State University

Ph.D. candidate, 2006-present, Dartmouth College


-SMART Scholar

- Microbiology and Molecular Pathogenesis Training Grant

Current Research:

-Elucidating molecular mechanisms of antibiotic resistance in MRSA by identifying regulators of penicillin-binding protein 4 (PBP4) in community-acquired strain USA400.


Raising three kids, Trivia Night at Ramunto's, and weekend trips into the White Mountains

Contact: Kimberly.A.Spotts [at] dartmouth [dot] edu

Lab Alumni

Brian Bateman - Department of Anesthesia, Massachusetts General Hospital

Manfred Bayer – Biotech company in Tuebingen

Y. T. Chan - at Microbia (Biotech)

Ursula Fluckiger - Associate Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Basel

Bill Fu – Glaxo SmithKline

Jon Heinrichs – Research Scientist at Merck

Susham Ingavale – NIH scientist

Todd Jarry - Biology Faculty at Woodberry Forest School

Tammy Joska - Research Associate at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Barbara Kahl – Associate Professor, University of Muenster

Nagender Ledala - Research Associate at the University of Nebraska

Dongmei Li – Research Scientist at the Serum Institute at the University of Copenhagen

Heping Lin - Research Biologist at Merck Research Laboratories

Thea Lu - Doctoral candidate, University of Idaho, Moscow

Adhar Manna – Assistant Professor, University of South Dakata

Michael Meehl – GlycoFi/Merck Pharmaceuticals

Guido Memmi

Koren Nishina – Scientist at Stanford University

Marco Palma – Biotech company in Madrid, Spain

Dindo Reyes

Kathy Schmidt – Scientist at a Biotech company

Sandeep Tamber – Scientist at Biotech in Montreal, Canada

Pilar Trotonda – University scientist in Madrid, Spain

Willem Van Wamel – Assistant Professor, University of Rotterdam

Christian Wolz – Associate Professor, University of Tuebingen