Skip to main content
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Department of Russian
6085 Reed Hall Room 201
Hanover, New Hampshire 03755-3562
Telephone: (603) 646-2070
Email: Russian.Department@Dartmouth.edu
 
Visit us on Facebook
 
Department Chair
Professor John KopperJohn.M.Kopper@dartmouth.edu
 
Department Administrator
Karen DeRosa, Karen.L.DeRosa@Dartmouth.edu
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Russian 36 Course Syllabus

Russian 36, Summer 2007: 2A

Tolstoy and the Problem of Death

Professor L. V. Loseff
Reed 208
Office Hours: By appointment, Reed 218

Books to Buy (Wheelock Books or Online)

  • Leo Tolstoy, War and Peace, Norton Critical edition, ISBN: 039396647X
  • Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina, Pevear and Volokhonsky translation, Penguin Books, ISBN 9780142000274
  • Leo Tolstoy, The Death of Ivan Ilych and Other Stories, Rebound by Sagebrush, ISBN-10: 0613185692

Midterm Examination, Oral Report, Term Paper and Grades

Midterm examination on July 26 25%
20-minute oral presentation on books, essays and articles about Tolstoy’s works (may serve as research for the term paper); individual schedules 25%
Term paper 15 pp.; due on or before August 21 30%
Class participation 20%

Students with learning, physical, or psychiatric disabilities who will be taking this course and may need disability-related classroom accommodations are encouraged to make an appointment and to see me as soon as possible.

Some students may wish to take part in religious observances that occur during this academic term. If you have a religious observance that conflicts with your participation in the course, please meet with me before the end of the second week of the term to discuss appropriate accommodations.

All required readings are to be completed in advance of the class session for which they are assigned.

  • Thursday, June 21
    Introduction
  • Tuesday, June 26
    "The Death of Ivan Il'ich," 52 pages
  • Thursday, June 28
    War and Peace, Book One, 91 pages

  • Tuesday, July 3
    War and Peace, Books Two-Four, 206 pages
  • Thursday, July 5
    War and Peace, Book Five, 62 pages

  • Tuesday, July 10
    War and Peace, Books Six-Eight, 167 pages
  • Thursday, July 12
    War and Peace, Book Nine, 72 pages

  • Tuesday, July 17
    War and Peace, Books Ten and Eleven, 220 pages
  • Thursday, July 19
    War and Peace, Book Twelve, 46 pages

  • Tuesday, July 24
    Finish War and Peace, 201 pages
  • Thursday, July 26
    Midterm Examination

  • Tuesday, July 31
    Anna Karenina, Parts One and Two, 236 pages
  • Thursday, August 2
    Anna Karenina, Part Three, 116 pages

  • Tuesday, August 8
    Anna Karenina, Parts Four and Five, 198 pages
  • Thursday, August 9
    Anna Karenina, Part Six, 120 pages

  • Tuesday, August 14
    Finish Anna Karenina, 146 pages
  • Thursday, August 16
    "The Kreutzer Sonata"

  • Tuesday, August 21
    Term paper due

Last Updated: 11/17/10