Skip to main content

GLOS Dates and Deadlines

Summer 2014 DATES AND DEADLINES  

ADVISORS

Moving Dartmouth Forward Presidential Steering Committee Meeting with GLOS advisors

Tuesday 1 July

4 PM

Parkhurst 303

Advisors Meeting

Wednesday 23 July

5:30 PM

Collis 212

HOUSE MANAGERS

House Managers Meeting

Thursday 19 June

drop in from 12 - 1:30 PM

TBA

Fire Drills

Monday 23 June

6 PM

 

Parking lists due via email to Parking Office

Friday 27 June

4:30 PM

Fire, Health and Safety Inspections (FiSH)

Monday 14 to Friday 18 July

PRESIDENTS

Presidents Meeting

Monday 23 June

6 PM

Collis 101

GLOS President's Summer Leadership Academy

Saturday 28 June

9:30 AM

Common Ground

Presidents Meeting

Monday 7 July

6 PM

Collis 101

Presidents Meeting

Monday 4 August

6 PM

Collis 101

SOCIAL CHAIRS / RISK MANAGERS

First day of registered SEMP events for Summer term ** Register here

Thursday 19 June

Social Chairs Training

TBA

 

 

Presidents / Risk Managers Q and A session

TBA

 

 

TIPs Training

TBA

   

Last day of registered SEMP events for Summer term                                              

Wednesday 20 August

SEMP Training: SEMP Training will introduce students to risk management, social host liability and college policies. Through this presentation participants will be able to identify potential risks and gain knowledge of the Dartmouth College Social Event Management Procedures. 

TiPS Training: The TiPS University program is tailored for students at universities and colleges. This program gives students the skills they need to intervene with their peers in social situations to prevent alcohol-related incidents. Whether or not students choose to drink, TIPS  recognizes that at some point in their college careers, they will face situations where alcohol is being consumed. They may face scenarios involving alcohol abuse, underage drinking or drunk driving, and incidents that can lead to property damage, alcohol liability, and human tragedy. Young people need strategies for creating safe, responsible and socially enjoyable campus environments.

Students are in the best position to address drinking behaviors among their peers. They are close to the situation and understand the culture on their campuses. TIPS develops students' social skills and gives specific information for detecting when friends have had too much to drink or are getting into trouble with alcohol. Students learn specific strategies and skills for intervening in alcohol-related situations that may develop on campus. Unique in its approach, TIPS brings together administrators, faculty and students to create responsible campus atmospheres.

TIPS builds on students' concerns for the safety of their peers. Students learn decision-making skills that help guide their behavior and are more likely to consider the consequences of their actions. In addition, students gain more confidence to intervene in difficult alcohol-related situations to prevent alcohol-related incidents on campus. 

Register for TiPS Training here

TREASURERS

Treasurers Meeting

Monday 23 June

3 PM Collis 212 

College Billing due to GLOS via email

Wednesday 25 June

8 AM

Treasurers binders due to GLOS Collis 217

Thursday 28 August

GENERAL DATES AND DEADLINES

Residence Halls Open at 9 AM

Tuesday 17 June

Summer term classes begin

Thursday 19 June

Special day of class

Saturday 21 June

Independence Day Holiday

Friday 4 July

Sophomore Family Weekend Class of 2016

Friday 25 July - Sunday 27 July

Fieldstock Weekend

TBA

Summer term classes end 

Wednesday 20 August

Final examination period begins

Saturday 23 August

Scheduled Final examinations end

Monday 25 August

Final examination period ends

Tuesday 26 August

Residence Halls Close at noon

Wednesday 27 August

GLC First Year Policy commences

Thursday 28 August

Last Updated: 7/14/14