Skip to main content

This website is no longer being updated. Visit Dartmouth Now for all news published after June 7, 2010.

Dartmouth News
>  News Releases >   2009 >   April

Dartmouth student wins Beinecke Scholarship

Dartmouth College Office of Public Affairs • Press Release
Posted 04/23/09 • Media Contact: Latarsha Gatlin (603) 646-3661

  • Save & Share:
  • Bookmark on
  • Submit to Digg!
  • Share on Facebook
  • Bookmark on Google
  • Post to MySpace
  • Share with Reddit
  • Share with StumbleUpon
  • Post to Twitter
  • Email & Print:
  • E-mail this
  • Print this
Gabrielle Ramaiah
Gabrielle Ramaiah

Gabrielle Ramaiah, a member of the Class of 2010, is one of 21 students nationally to win the Beinecke Scholarship.

Recipients of the Beinecke Scholarship receive $4,000 prior to entering graduate school and an additional $30,000 while attending graduate school. Scholarship winners are encouraged to begin graduate school after receiving their undergraduate degree and must utilize all of the scholarship funding within five years of completing their undergraduate degree.

Ramaiah, of Houston, Texas, is a double major in government and Arabic, a Rufus Choate Scholar at Dartmouth (in the top 5 percent of her class), a Mellon Mays Undergraduate Associate Fellow, a Presidential Scholar and a member of the Golden Key Honor Society. She hopes to pursue a PhD in political science and international relations.

“I'm excited about receiving the award,” Ramaiah said. “The Beinecke scholarship is a great source of encouragement as well as a reminder of the opportunities and challenges that I will encounter as I pursue my interests in graduate school.”

The Beinecke Scholarship Program encourages highly motivated students to pursue opportunities in graduate school in the arts, humanities or social sciences.

To compete for a Beinecke award, applicants must be a college junior pursuing a bachelor’s degree during the 2008-2009 academic year with plans to enter a master’s or doctoral program. Dartmouth may nominate one candidate per year.

The Beinecke Scholarship Program was established in 1971 by the Board of Directors of The Sperry and Hutchinson Company to honor Edwin, Frederick, and Walter Beinecke. The Board created an endowment to provide substantial scholarships for the graduate education of young men and women of exceptional promise. Since 1975 the program has selected more than 430 college juniors from 100 different undergraduate institutions.

Dartmouth has television (satellite uplink) and radio (ISDN) studios available for domestic and international live and taped interviews. For more information, call 603-646-3661 or see our Radio, Television capability webpage.

Recent Headlines from Dartmouth News: