Skip to main content

This website is no longer being updated. Visit Dartmouth Now for all news published after June 7, 2010.

Dartmouth News
>  News Releases >   2007 >   June

Dartmouth Commencement 2007Class Notes

Dartmouth College Office of Public Affairs • (603) 646-3661 • Posted 06/09/07

Degrees awarded:

Arts and Sciences, Undergraduate: 1,021
Arts and Sciences, Graduate:189
Dartmouth Medical School: 99
Thayer School of Engineering: 123
Tuck School of Business: 243
Total degrees awarded:1,675

Where seniors come from:

The undergraduate Class of 2007 hails from 48 states and the District of Columbia; the most represented states are New York, California, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and New Hampshire. International students come from 29 countries; the most represented are Canada, People's Republic of China, Republic of Korea, and India.

Most popular majors for the Class of 2006:

The most popular majors are Economics, Government, Psychology and Brain Sciences, History, and English.

Valedictorian and Salutatorian:

Nikolas Abraham Primack, from Claremont, Calif., has been named valedictorian. Over the course of his career as a Dartmouth undergraduate, he achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average (GPA) on the Dartmouth grading scale. Jeremy Marc Schneider, of Piedmont, Calif., is the salutatorian. Schneider earned a GPA of 3.99.

Phi Beta Kappa:

The Alpha of New Hampshire Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at Dartmouth College inducted 89 undergraduates as new members in ceremonies held Saturday. The chapter also inducted as honorary members Cynthia Huntington, professor of English, and Dennis Washburn, professor of Asian and Middle Eastern languages and literature and comparative literature. Erich Kunzel '57, principal conductor of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, was inducted as an alumni member.

Senior Class Day Honors:

During Saturday's Class Day ceremonies for undergraduates, Alexandra Garrison received the Philip D. McInnis Class of 1936 Award for achievement by a woman in the class, and Troy Stewart received the Barrett Cup for all-around achievement by a man in the graduating class. Michelle Davis was the Class Orator. Jacob Crumbine, president of the Class of 2007, and Luke Antal, president of the Senior Executive Committee, also gave addresses at the event. Cristina Churchill, Audrey Knutson, Casey Ley, and Brent Butler served as Class Historians. William Cook, the Israel Evans Professor of Oratory and Belles Lettres Emeritus, was chosen by the class as the faculty speaker.

Dartmouth has television (satellite uplink) and radio (ISDN) studios available for domestic and international live and taped interviews. For more information, call 603-646-3661 or see our Radio, Television capability webpage.

Recent Headlines from Dartmouth News: