Skip to main content

This website is no longer being updated. Visit Dartmouth Now for all news published after June 7, 2010.

Dartmouth News
>  News Releases >   2006 >   April

Dartmouth Undergraduates Win National Academic Awards

Dartmouth College Office of Public Affairs • Press Release
Posted 04/10/06 • Susan Knapp (603) 646-3661

Scholarship winners
Back row, left to right: Frederick Hitti ’07, Alexander Rupert ’07, Gwen Rudie ’07, Christina Behrend ’07, and Mita Sharma ’08.
Front row, left to right: Phuong Luong ’07, Adrienne Lee ’07, and Kenneth Muigai ’07. (Photo by Sarah Benelli)

Eight Dartmouth students have recently been honored with national awards that recognize their scholarly achievements.

Four students were nominated and all were selected to receive this year's prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation award, which provides scholarship support for sophomores or juniors who plan to pursue careers in math, science, or engineering. The four, Christina Behrend, Frederick Hitti, Gwen Rudie, and Alexander Rupert, are members of the Class of 2007. This year's 323 Goldwater Scholars were chosen from a field of 1,081, all nominated by faculty members at colleges and universities nationwide.

Behrend, from Englishtown, N.J., is an engineering major, and she wants to earn a Ph.D. that combines her interests in neuroscience engineering and robotics. Hitti, now living in Hanover, N.H. but originally from Old Westbury N.Y., is working on a major in biochemistry and molecular biology, and he hopes to pursue an M.D.–Ph.D. in neuroscience. Rudie, from Madison, Wisc., is a physics and astronomy major, and she will pursue a Ph.D. in astronomy and astrophysics. Rupert, from Seattle, Wash., is working toward a double major in chemistry and psychology, and he hopes to earn a Ph.D. in synthetic organic chemistry.

Three members of the Class of 2007 have been awarded a Rockefeller Brothers Fund Fellowship for Aspiring Teachers of Color. Adrienne Lee, from Winchester, Mass., Phuong Luong, from Brooklyn, N.Y., and Kenneth Muigai, from New York, N.Y., all plan to pursue an M.A. in education or other education related advanced study. The fellowship, awarded to juniors in college, provides support for graduate school and loan repayment. All fellows must plan to teach a minimum of three years in a public elementary or secondary school. This is the second year that all the Dartmouth nominees received awards. Lee is majoring in psychology at Dartmouth. Luong is pursuing an environmental studies major. Muigai is working toward a major in English modified with film studies.

Mita Sharma, a member of the Class of 2008 from Princeton Junction, N.J., has been chosen for the Goldman Sachs Global Leaders Program, an international competition that recognizes academic excellence and leadership potential. She is one of only 100 sophomores worldwide, and one of 16 U.S. honorees. She intends to major in neuroscience and minor in chemistry. The award aims to nurture the educators, policy makers, and business leaders of the future, by creating an international network to share ideas and work collaboratively.

"These awards all formally acknowledge what we already inherently know: that Dartmouth students are academic leaders," says Kristin O'Rourke, Dartmouth's scholarship advisor. "Our students are poised to do great things after they graduate, and these impressive national awards all recognize that."

Dartmouth has television (satellite uplink) and radio (ISDN) studios available for domestic and international live and taped interviews. For more information, call 603-646-3661 or see our Radio, Television capability webpage.

Recent Headlines from Dartmouth News: