Skip to main content

This website is no longer being updated. Visit Dartmouth Now for all news published after June 7, 2010.

Dartmouth News
>  News Releases >   2005 >   October

Acclaimed filmmaker Sidney Lumet will receive Dartmouth Film Award on Nov. 9

Dartmouth College Office of Public Affairs • Press Release
Posted 10/28/05 • Contact Genevieve Haas (603) 646-3661

Sidney Lumet
Acclaimed director Sidney Lumet will be on campus to accept the Dartmouth Film Award.

Director Sidney Lumet will be at Dartmouth College on Nov. 9 to accept the Dartmouth Film Award from the Dartmouth Film Society and take part in an on-stage discussion of his life's work. The event will be held in the Spaulding Auditorium in the Hopkins Center for the Arts at 7 p.m.

Lumet, the director of such films as Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, The Verdict, 12 Angry Men and Network, was recently given an Honorary Academy Award for his body of work and contributions to the film industry. With 40 films to his credit, Lumet has directed 17 Oscar-winning or -nominated performances, earning four nominations of his own as Best Director. His tale of life behind the camera, Making Movies (1996), is a best seller and continues to be taught in film classes around the country. Lumet remains active as a filmmaker, having just wrapped Find Me Guilty this year.

The Nov. 9 event will be hosted by Bill Pence, Director of Film for the Hopkins Center and the show will include a compilation of film clips and an on-stage discussion with Sidney Lumet moderated by Chris Robinson '86, former DFS Director and current PhD candidate in film theory. Sydney Stowe, the Hopkins Film Manager and co-organizer of the event called the Tribute to Sidney Lumet "the centerpiece of the Dartmouth Film Society's fall series on America in the movies. Lumet is the quintessential American director; from 12 Angry Men to Network to The Verdict, his films speak to our national sense of justice and social conscience."

The Dartmouth Film Award, established in 1979, honors outstanding contributors to film and filmmaking. Previous winners have included Johnny Depp, Robert Redford, Liv Ullman, Ken Burns, Stephen Frears, Glenn Close, Peter Greenaway and Meryl Streep.

Tickets to the event are $7 for the general public, $5 for Dartmouth students, faculty and staff, or free with a Dartmouth Film Society pass. Individual tickets can be purchased in advance from the Hopkins Center Box Office (603-646-2422.) For more information, call the Hop Film Office at 603-646-2576 or visit online.

Dartmouth has television (satellite uplink) and radio (ISDN) studios available for domestic and international live and taped interviews. For more information, call 603-646-3661 or see our Radio, Television capability webpage.

Recent Headlines from Dartmouth News: