Skip to main content

This website is no longer being updated. Visit Dartmouth Now for all news published after June 7, 2010.

Dartmouth News
>  News Releases >   2004 >   June

Dartmouth Commencement 2004

Posted 06/13/04

Class Notes

Degrees awarded:

  • Arts and Sciences, Undergraduate = 1,067
  • Arts and Sciences, Graduate = 152
  • Dartmouth Medical School = 81
  • Thayer School of Engineering = 109
  • Amos Tuck School of Business = 240
  • Total degrees awarded = 1649

Where seniors come from:

The undergraduate Class of 2004 hails from 49 states and the District of Columbia; the most represented states are New York, California, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and Connecticut. International students come from 29 countries; the most represented are Canada (5 provinces), the People's Republic of China, India, Singapore, and the Republic of Korea.

Most popular majors for the Class of 2004:

The most popular majors are Economics, Government, History, English, and Psychology & Brain Sciences.

Valedictorian and Salutatorian:

Savina Bojidarova Rizova of Sofia, Bulgaria, is valedictorian with a grade point average (GPA) of 4.00. Melissa Anne Sheiko of Billings, Mont., is salutatorian with a GPA of 3.98.

Phi Beta Kappa:

The Alpha of New Hampshire Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at Dartmouth inducted 94 graduates as new members in ceremonies held Saturday. The chapter also inducted as honorary members Alan L. Gustman, Loren M. Berry Professor of Economics, William C. Spengemann, Patricia S. and William B. Hale '44 Professor of English, Emeritus and Keith L. Walker, Professor of French and Italian Languages and Literatures. Daniel McCarthy '54, Professor of Business Administration at Northeastern University, was inducted as an alumni member.

Senior Class Day Honors:

During Saturday's Class Day ceremonies for undergraduates, Alison C. Kelley received the Philip D. McInnis Class of 1936 Award for achievement by a woman in the class, and Peter Sokol-Hessner received the Barrett Cup for all-around achievement by a man in the graduating class. Paul A. Marino was the Class Orator. Alexa R. Hansen, President of the Class of 2004, and Cassandra H. Welch, President of the Senior Executive Committee, also gave addresses at the event. Clifford L. Campbell, Lea N. Kiefer, Kent C. Liske and Sarah Sirota were the Class Historians. Allan Stam, Associate Professor of Government, was chosen by the class as the faculty speaker.

Return to Commencement 2004

Dartmouth has television (satellite uplink) and radio (ISDN) studios available for domestic and international live and taped interviews. For more information, call 603-646-3661 or see our Radio, Television capability webpage.

Recent Headlines from Dartmouth News: