Skip to main content

This website is no longer being updated. Visit Dartmouth Now for all news published after June 7, 2010.

Dartmouth News
>  News Releases >   2003 >   June

Dartmouth Commencement 2003

Posted 06/08/03

Class Notes

Degrees awarded:

  • Arts and Sciences, Undergraduate = 1,020
  • Arts and Sciences, Graduate = 162
  • Dartmouth Medical School = 92
  • Thayer School of Engineering = 106
  • Amos Tuck School of Business = 224
  • Total degrees awarded = 1604

Where seniors come from:

The undergraduate Class of 2003 hails from 49 states and the District of Columbia; the most represented states are New York, Massachusetts, California, New Jersey, and Connecticut. International students come from 39 countries; the most represented are Canada (6 provinces), Republic of Korea, Pakistan, India and Japan.

Most popular majors for the Class of 2003:

The most popular majors are Economics, Government, Psychological and Brain Sciences, History and English.

Valedictorian and Salutatorian:

Latchezar L. Benatov of Sofia, Bulgaria, is valedictorian with a grade point average (GPA) of 3.99. Justin M. Walsh of Quincy, Mass., is salutatorian with a GPA of 3.98.

Phi Beta Kappa:

The Dartmouth Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa inducted 102 graduates as new members in ceremonies held Saturday. The chapter also inducted as honorary members Lenore A. Grenoble, Professor of Russian and Linguistics & Cognitive Science and Associate Dean of the Faculty for the Humanities, John F. Modlin, Professor of Pediatrics and of Medicine and Chair of Pediatrics and Martin N. Wybourne, Francis & Mildred Sears Professor of Physics and Associate Dean of the Faculty for the Sciences. James Stuart Fordyce '53, Vice President and Chief Scientist, Ohio Aerospace Institute, was inducted as an alumni member.

Senior Class Day Honors:

During Saturday's Class Day ceremonies for undergraduates, Leah Michele Wright received the Philip D. McInnis Class of 1936 Award for achievement by a woman in the class, and Michael Shaw Perry received the Barrett Cup for all-around achievement by a man in the graduating class. Adam Edward Kuhlmann was the Class Orator. Timothy Jason Ortiz, President of the Class of 2003, and Olufunmilola Adeola Adedokun, President of the Senior Executive Committee, also gave addresses at the event. Heather Elizabeth Harrington, Sheridan Edward Fox, Nancy I-Chen Lai and Scott Alexander Rutherford were the Class Historians. Nancy Crumbine, Visiting Associate Professor of English, was chosen by the class as the faculty speaker.

Dartmouth has television (satellite uplink) and radio (ISDN) studios available for domestic and international live and taped interviews. For more information, call 603-646-3661 or see our Radio, Television capability webpage.

Recent Headlines from Dartmouth News: