Skip to main content

Find Voice in a Whisper
January 18-30, 2015

Social Justice Awards Logo

2014 Award Ceremony

The Martin Luther King Jr. Social Justice Awards honor members of the Dartmouth and Upper Valley community who have contributed significantly to social justice, peace, civil rights, education, public health, or environmental justice. Those eligible for the awards include Dartmouth, Geisel, Thayer, Tuck, and A&S students, graduate students, alumni, faculty, employees, and friends who have contributed significantly to peace, civil rights, education, public health, environmental justice or social justice. A separate category honors student and graduate student groups. This event is sponsored by the Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration, Institutional Diversity & Equity, Tucker Foundation, and Geisel School of Medicine.

Lester B. Granger ′18 Award for Lifetime Achievement

The annual Lester B. Granger ′18 Award honors Dartmouth alumni/ae who have exhibited leadership and innovation while meeting community needs and benefiting an underserved population.
The late Lester Granger was one of three brothers who attended Dartmouth. His career included working as a teacher, coach, social worker and youth counselor, though he was best known for serving as the Executive Director of the Urban League for 20 years. A veteran of World War I, Granger was asked by President Roosevelt to be the Special Advisor to the Secretary of the Navy on Negro Personnel, and was nationally known for his leadership in eliminating racism and his attention to issues of poverty.
In 1947, Granger received the Navy′s Distinguished Civilian Service Medal, and also was awarded the President′s Medal for Merit from President Harry S. Truman. He became the first African-American to be nominated as President of the National Conference of Social Work in 1951, and in 1961 he was elected in Rome as the President of the International Conference of Social Work. In retirement, Granger taught at the college level as well as serving as a trustee for several colleges and nonprofit organizations. He remained an enthusiastic member of his Dartmouth class and actively participated in alumni activities and received an honorary degree from Dartmouth in 1946.

Ongoing Commitment Award

Emerging Leadership Award

Holly Fell Sateia Award

The Holly Fell Sateia Award was established by President Jim Yong Kim and then-Provost Carol Folt in 2011 to honor the legacy of Holly Fell Sateia MALS'82, Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity, Emerita, and to recognize diversity as a vibrant part of Dartmouth's mission. This award recognizes a faculty or staff member at Dartmouth who is an enthusiastic and effective leader in advancing diversity and community.
All faculty and staff at Dartmouth are eligible for this award. Nominees should demonstrate an enduring interest in and ability to build and enhance diversity, through sustained effort and work, enriching the lives of surrounding community members. This enrichment helps foster a safe environment in which a community can learn, collaborate, and innovate.

Sponsored by the Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration, Office of Institutional Diversity & Equity, Tucker Foundation, and Geisel School of Medicine.


Individual Awards

Dartmouth Student Organization Award

Last Updated: 10/3/14