**December 16, 2015**

Zach Parker (left), a PhD student in David Leib's lab, received the ImmuNext Translational Immunology travel award. ImmuNext will be paying for him to attend the Keystone Innate Immunity and Determinants of Microbial Pathogenesis joint meeting with the Mechanisms of Proinflammatory Disease meeting, Resort at Squaw Creek, Olympic Valley, California, April 19 to 24, 2015.

**September 27, 2014**

Robert Cramer (below), a member of our M2P2 group, recently co-authored a paper in Science studying the process of "trained immunity" using his model system of Aspergillus infections. Kelly Sheperdson, a recently graduated PhD student in his lab contributed to this work. Check out more information here.

**August 4, 2014**

Pam Rosato, a PhD student in the Leib lab, had her recent paper "Intrinsic innate immunity fails to control herpes simplex and vesicular stomatitis virus replication in sensory neurons and fibroblasts" featured on the front cover of Journal of Virology.

**May 2, 2014**

Kiah Sanders, a PhD student in the Bzik lab, was awarded the Dana Farber/Harvard Cancer Center Award for the outstanding oral presentation at the 2014 New England Science Symposium.

**April 7, 2014** We have two pieces of news today.

Allia Lindsay, a PhD student in the Hogan lab, was awarded the Eukaryotic Cell Outstanding Young Investigator Award for her poster presentation at the ASM Candida and Candidiasis Conference.

Angelyca Jackson, also in the Hogan lab, received the Grad Community Award for 2014 for her outstanding contributions to the graduate student community at Dartmouth.

Congratulations to you both!

**October 25, 2013** Laura Filkins, a PhD student in our program, was awarded a travel grant by the ALTA California Eye Research Foundation to travel to Africa to use molecular approaches to characterize the microbial communities associated with trachoma, an infectious disease caused by the bacterium Chlamydia trachomatis. Congratulations!

**October 3, 2013** Josh Obar, a graduate of the MCB Program at Dartmouth and a former member of Ed Usherwood's lab in our program, is now a faculty member at Montana State University. He was recently awarded the prestigious 2013 ICAAC Young Investigator Award from ASM. Congratulations! Check out more information here.

**August 29, 2013** A recent paper headed by Anda Zhang and Larry Myers (below), was cited as an Article of Significant Interest in Eucaryotic Cell. This work focuses on White-Opaque switching in the fungal pathogen Candida albicans. Check it out here.

**June 19, 2013** Nora Grahl, a psot-doc in the Hogan lab, was recently awarded the Life Sciences Research Foundation Post-doctoral Fellowship (LSRF) on her project entitled "Mechanisms by which bacterial phenazines modulate eukaryotic growth programs". Her research interests focus on links between metabolism and signaling across eukaryotes. In the fungal pathogen Candida albicans, Nora is studying how microbially-produced small molecules impact biofilm formation through effects on metabolically responsive signaling pathways.

**May 28, 2013** Katie Price, a post-doc in the O'Toole lab, recently received a post-doc fellowship award from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. She has been named the Basbaum Fellow as the highest-scoring post-doctoral fellowship applicant.

Deb Hogan, a professor in the program, was recently interviewed on Vermont Public Radio where she discussed the human microbiome. Check it out here

**March 25, 2013** Dr. Amy Piispanen, a graduate of our PhD program who trained in the laboratory of Deborah Hogan, will be starting as Assistant Professor of Microbiology/Genetics next fall at Franklin Pierce University. Amy has been teaching at FPU since her graduation. For her PhD studies, Amy worked on Candida aliicans morphogenesis and Ras signaling.

**March 25, 2013**

Sabrina Ceeraz, Ph.D., a post-doc in the Noelle lab, was awarded a trainee/abstract award for the American Association of Immunologists Annual Meeting to be held in Hawaii later this Spring. Two PhD students in the Immunology Program, Eleanor Clancy-Thompson, (David Mullins lab) and Shannon Steinberg (Mary Jo Turk lab), also received these awards.

**March 21, 2013**

David Bzik was recently awarded a new NIH grant to examine parasite manipulation of host response mediated by secreted parasite proteins. This new project has evolved from the the thesis work of current student Leah Rommereim who is a past trainee on the M2P2 training grant, and a member of the M2P2 program.

**March 10, 2013**

Two postdoctoral fellows from our program, Yun Luo and Nora Grahl were accepted into the Quantitative Fluorescent Microscopy course offered by the Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory.

**March 7, 2013**

The Hogan lab recently published two papers headed up by Ph.D. students.

The first paper, titled "Control of *Candida albicans* Metabolism and Biofilm Formation by *Pseudomonas aeruginosa* Phenazines", with Diana Morales as lead author and additional contributions by Nora Grahl, was published in mBio. Nick Jacobs, an emeritis professor in M/I made significant contributions to this work, which also included a collaborative effort by the Dietrich lab at Columbia.

A second paper titled "Farnesol and cyclic AMP signaling effects on the hypha-to-yeast transition in *Candida albicans*" was published in in Eukaryotic Cell and was a joint effort by Hogan lab members Allia Lindsay, Aurélie Deveau and Amy Piispanen. Aurélie Deveau recently started her own group in France.

**March 6, 2013**

Edward Usherwood, a Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, was recently named an Editor of the Journal of Immunology. His term starts January 1, 2014.

**March 5, 2013**

As part of the Graduate Studies workshop series called "Becoming a Faculty Member", George O'Toole gave a talk on lab management and how this aspect of training (not typically formalized in graduate programs) is a critical part of your job as a faculty member. Check out this link to see a story on the Grad Studies web page that gives an overview of this presentation.